Севан, Армения

Севан: город "Гегамского моря"

Монастырь Севанаванк в Севане

Город Севан расположен на северо-западном берегу одноимённого озера, на высоте 1900 м над уровнем моря. Здесь проживает свыше 23 тыс. человек. Севан является курортным городом, а также административным центром Севанского района Гехаркуникской области в Армении.

История города начинается с 1842 года, когда русские поселенцы-молокане (особая группа православных русских) основали небольшое поселение у истоков реки Раздан (вытекает из озера Севан). Изначально поселение называлось Еленовка в честь жены русского императора Николая I. 3 января 1935 года было принято решение переименовать село в честь озера Севан. Во второй половине XX века Севан получил статус города и стал бурно развиваться, благодаря строительству транспортных магистралей, а так же промышленных предприятий. На сегодняшний день Севан – один из важных промышленных центров в Армении.

Одной из главных достопримечательностей города является само озеро Севан. Площадь озера - 1240 км², его максимальная глубина – 80 м. В 1978 году на берегу озера был создан национальный парк «Севан». Севан – это озеро тектонического происхождения. Оно окружено несколькими горными хребтами. Это второе в мире озеро по запасам пресной воды, а так же самое большое на Кавказе. В солнечные дни озеро словно зеркально отражает голубое небо и снежные горы, а в пасмурную погоду представляет собой бушующую и яростную картину.

Название Севан очень древнее. Существует несколько теорий по поводу его этимологии (происхождение). Долгое время считалось, что своё название озеро получило от названия монастыря Севанаванк, но археологами была найдена древняя надпись на камне, датированная IX веком до н.э. на урартском языке, где было дано древнее название «суниа», которое переводится как «озеро».

Еще одной достопримечательностью Севана является средневековый монастырь Севанаванк, который расположен на полуострове в 3 км от города. Монастырь представляет собой комплекс небольших зданий IX в. История монастыря начинается с заселения на острове нескольких монахов, которые построили несколько келий и часовню. Постепенно количество монахов увеличивалось, поэтому по приказу принцессы Мариам – дочери царя Ашота I Багратуни в 874 году началось активное строительство монастыря. Так же монастырь известен тем, здесь перед сражениями с арабами жил царь Ашот Железный, а само сражение произошло недалеко от стен монастыря. На сегодняшний день от монастыря остались лишь несколько небольших церквей и остатки келий.

К юго-западу от города Севан находится один из древнейших археологических памятников урартского периода Армении – Лчашен. Он известен своим археологическим комплексом, состоящим из крепости, могильных курганов, остатков древнего города. До середины XX века комплекс находился под водой, но после обмеления озера здесь начались археологические раскопки. Самые древние культурные слои, обнаруженные под городом, датированы 3 тысячелетием до н.э.

Город Севан интересен не только своей историей и достопримечательностями. Это один из самых развитых туристических центров Армении. Здесь расположены отели, различные развлекательные центры. Немаловажным является и то, что город считается одним из центров развития водных и пляжных видов спорта, таких как волейбол, виндсёрфинг. Кроме того в городе построен аквапарк. Для любителей конного спорта здесь оборудован конный клуб, а для теннисистов – современные теннисные корты.

Sevan, Armenia

Sevan: city of the "Geghama Sea"

Sevanavank Monastery in Sevan

Sevan city is located on the north-western side of the lake with the same name, at height of 1,900m above sea level. Its population is over 23,000 people. Sevan is a resort city and also an administrative center of Sevan district of Gegharkunik region in Armenia.

The city’s history begins from 1842, when Russian settlers-molokanes (a special group of the orthodox Russians) set up a small colony at the riverhead of the Razdan (flows from the Sevan lake). Initially the colony was named as Yelenovka after the wife of Russian Emperor Nikolai I. On 3 January 1935 by the decision adopted, the village was re-named to Sevan in honor of the lake. In the second half of the XX century, Sevan obtained a status of a city and began to develop fast due to the construction of main traffic arteries and industrial undertakings. Today Sevan is one of the most important industrial centers of Armenia.

One of the city’s main places of interest is the Sevan Lake itself. The lake’s area is 1,240 km²; its maximum depth is 80 m. Sevan National Park was set up on its lakeside in 1978. The Sevan is a lake of tectonic origin. It is surrounded by several mountain ranges. The Sevan is the world’s second lake in fresh water deposits and also the largest one in the Caucuses. In sunny days the lake, like a mirror, reflects the blue sky and snowy mountains and in overcast days represents a roar and violent picture.

The name of Sevan came from the ancient times. There are several theories connected with its etymology (origin). A great while, it was believed that its name originated from the name of the Sevanavank Monastery, but archeologists managed to discover an ancient inscription on a stone dated by the IX century BC which gave its Urartu ancient name “sunia” translated as “a lake”.

Another place of interest in Sevan is the medieval Sevanavank Monastery, located on a peninsula, 3 km from the city. The Monastery is a complex of small buildings constructed in the IX century. The monastery’s history begins from the time when several monks settled down on the isle and built several cells and a chapel. Step by step the number of the monks increased and that is why in 874 Princess Mariam, a daughter of king Ashot I Bagratuni ordered to build a monastery. The monastery is also known as a place where king Ashot, the Iron stayed before a battle with the Arabs, while the battle itself took place not far from the monastery’s walls. Up to date there only survived several small churches and fragments of cells from the whole monastery.

To the south-west from Sevan city there is one of the most ancient archeological monuments of the Urartu period of Armenia – Lchashen. It is famous for its archeological complex consisting of a fortress, mounds and ruins of the ancient city. The archeological excavation of the complex started only in the middle of the XX century, when the lake got beneaped, because before, it was under water. The most ancient occupation layers, revealed under the city dated back to the III millennium BC.

Sevan city is interesting not only with its history and sights. It is one of the most developed Armenian tourist centers. It is the place where hotels, various recreation centers are located. By no means unimportant is that the city is considered to be one of the centers for development of water and beach sports, such as valley-ball and windsurfing. Furthermore an Aqua-Park was built in the city. An equestrian club for equestrian sport fans and modern tennis-courts for tennis-players were also built there.