Крепость Гонио, Батуми

Крепость Гонио, БатумиВ местечке Гонио в Аджарии в 15 км от города Батуми на территории в 4,5 гектара находится самая старая крепость в Грузии – крепость Гонио (или Гонио-Апсаросская крепость). История крепости насчитывает несколько тысячелетий. Древнейшие археологические пласты, раскопанные археологами на территории крепости относятся к XV-XVII векам до н.э. Существует легенда, что название Апсарос происходит из древнегреческого мифа об аргонавтах. По легенде именно на этом месте был похоронен убитый Язоном сын царя Аэта – Апсирт.

С Гонио-Апсаросской крепостью связано множество легенд и мифов. На территории крепости находится могила, которую на сегодняшний день принято считать могилой апостола Матфея – одного из двенадцати апостолов Иисуса Христа, которого Спаситель принял в свой круг вместо Иуды Искариота. По одной из версий апостол Матфей после смерти Христа пришёл в крепость Гонио и остался здесь проповедовать. Могила апостола Матвея находится на территории римской претории (с латинского досл. «палатка полководца»). Так как Гонио-Апсаросская крепость в начале нашей эры была построена как опорная цитадель римских войск, то преторией в данном случае называлась резиденция римского генерала, командующего гарнизоном. От претории остались огромные каменные постаменты в виде крестов, которые предположительно стоят над могилой апостола Матфея.

На протяжении всех своей истории крепость Гонио принадлежала сначала римлянам, затем был византийский период, в 1547 году Гонио-Апсаросская крепость была захвачена турками-османами. Лишь в 1878 году по договору Сан-Стефано крепость Гонио, как и вся Аджария, переходит под протекторат Российской Империи. В советский период Аджария стала автономией, которая сохраняется за этой территорией до сих пор.

На сегодняшний день Гонио-Апсаросская крепость является памятником римского периода истории Аджарии. Планировка, архитектура крепости почти не изменились за все века её существования. Несмотря на то, что напротив могилы Святого Матфея была построена мечеть, а римские термы были переделаны в восточные бани, общая архитектура крепости осталась такой же как и две тысячи лет назад при римлянах.

Общая длина стен крепости составляет 900 метров, а высота – 5 метров. Изначально, по периметру крепости были построены 22 башни высотой – 7 метров, но некоторые из них со временем были разрушены и сегодня крепость насчитывает всего 18 башен. Крепость имела 4 входа и выхода, сегодня в сохранности лишь западный вход.

Гонио-Апсаросская крепость была важным стратегическим пунктом. Её главной функцией была охрана входов в ущелье реки Чорохи и Ачарисцкали, которые связывали внутренние районы страны с Черноморским побережьем. По этой территории проходила восточная граница Римской империи, что делало крепость Гонио не только важным стратегическим пунктом, но так же экономическим и культурным центром Восточного Рима о чем свидетельствуют найденные археологами руины ипподрома и римского театра, предположительно действующие в I-III вв. н.э. Считается, что именно на этой территории зародились первые грузинские государственные объединения, а в византийский период территория крепости была опорным пунктом для генуэзских торговцев.

История крепости Гонио до сих пор таит в себе много тайн. Здесь до сих пор ведутся археологические раскопки, а ученые делают множество новых открытий, таких как найденный возле южной стены в 1974 году клад, датированные V веком н.э. Исходя из огромного исторического и культурного значения крепости Гонио, правительство Грузии объявило её в 1994 году музеем-заповедником.

Advantour Scheduled Uzbekistan Tours
ENG  РУС 

Hotels Tours Flights Visa
Home > Silk Road > Central Asia > Georgia > Batumi About Us - Our People - Worldwide Partners - Contacts

Gonio Fortress, Batumi


Gonio Fortress, BatumiThe oldest fortress of Georgia – the Gonio Fortress (or the Gonio-Apsaros Fortress) occupying the territory of 4,5 ha is situated in village of Gonio in Adjara, 15 km from Batumi city. The fortress history amounts to several millenniums. The ancient archeological layers, dug in the fortress territory belong to the XV-XVII centuries BC. There exists a legend that the name of Apsaros originates from the ancient Greek myth about Argonauts. According to the legend this was the place where Apsyrtus, King Aet’s son killed by Jason, was buried. 

Many legends and myths are connected with the Gonio-Apsaros Fortress. The Fortress territory has a tomb which up to date is considered to be the Apostle Mathew’s tomb – one of twelfth Jesus Christ’s disciples whom Savior accepted to his circle instead of Judas Iscariot. According to one of the versions, Apostle Mathew after Christ’s death came to the Gonio Fortress and stayed there to preach. The Apostle Mathew’s tomb is found in the territory of the Roman Praetorium (from Latin “general's tent”). Since the Gonio-Apsaros Fortress built in the beginning of our era as a base citadel of Roman troops, then a residence of a Roman general, a garrison commander was called as a Praetorium. The Praetorium only survived as huge stone pedestals in a form of crosses presumably standing over the Apostle Mathew’s tomb.

Over the whole history the Gonio Fortress belonged first to the Romans before the Byzantine period and in 1547 the Gonio-Apsaros Fortress was captured by the Ottoman Turks. Only in 1878 under the Treaty of San Stefano, the Gonio Fortress as well as the whole Adjara was passed under protectorate of the Russian Empire. In Soviet time Adjara obtained the status of status of autonomy preserving it for the territory up to date.

Nowadays the Gonio-Apsaros Fortress is a monument of Roman period of the Adjarian history. The Fortress layout and architecture have left almost unchanged over all centuries of its existence. In spite of the fact that a mosque was built opposite to the Saint Mathew’s tomb, and the existed Roman therms were rebuilt into the oriental bath-houses, the general architecture of the Fortress remained the same as it was two thousand years ago under the Romans.

The total wall length amounts to 900 m and the height is 5 m. Initially, twenty two 7m-high towers were built along the Fortress perimeter, but in course of time some of them were destroyed, and today the Fortress has only 18 towers. Once the Fortress had 4 entries and exits, but currently it is only the western entry that survived.

The Gonio-Apsaros Fortress was an important strategic point. Its main function was to protect the entries to the Chorokhi and Acharistskali river gorge which connected the inner regions of the country with Black sea shore. It was the territory where the eastern border of the Roman Empire ran, it made the Gonio Fortress not only a strategically important point but also an economic and cultural center of Eastern Rome, which fact was confirmed by the ruins of a hippodrome and Roman theatre found by archeologists, presumably operating in the I-III centuries AD. This territory is considered to be a place where the first Georgian associations were founded and during the Byzantine period the Fortress territory was a stronghold for Genoese merchants.

The history of the Gonio Fortress still is fraught with mysteries. There, the archaeological excavation are still underway, and the scientists make a lot of new discoveries, such as a buried treasure dating back to the V century AD, revealed near the southern wall in 1974. Based on the important historical and cultural significance of the Gonio Fortress, the Georgian government announced it Reserve Museum in 1994.

Batumi

Batumi Archaeological Museum
Botanical Garden
Churches of Batumi
Gonio Fortress
Seaside Park
silk road : central asia : uzbekistan : kyrgyzstan : kazakhstan : tajikistan : turkmenistan
russia : azerbaijan : georgia: armenia : china
Copyright © 2001-2014 Advantour. All rights reserved, Privacy Policy
Advantour Uzbekistan
Tel.: +998 71 1503020

All Contacts