Церковь Святого Николая в Батуми

Церковь Святого Николая, БатумиЦерковь Святого Николая расположена в самом центре Батуми. Этой церкви больше 150 лет и она является одной из старейших в Батуми. Инициатором постройки церкви стало греческое население Батуми во главе с главой города греком Ильёй Ефремиди.

В 1854 году, когда Ефремиди становится новым главой города, он проводит масштабные строительные работы. Это понравилось турецким властям, и они дали разрешение на постройку храма, но без колоколов.

В 1865 году греки начинают строительство храма на земле, пожертвованной в пользу храма Ильёй Ефремиди. Деньги на строительство были собраны прихожанами. Храм стал не просто культовым зданием, здесь была сфокусирована долгое время вся жизнь греческого населения Батуми. Здесь с 1894 по 1898 гг. функционировали женская и мужская школы, а также располагался церковный хор, который считался одним из лучших в Батуми. В 1878 году русские военные привезли колокол, который и сегодня украшает храм.

Церковь Святого Николая, БатумиЦерковь Святого Николая до постройки Собора Рождества Пресвятой Богородицы была кафедральным собором. Первые молебны были отслужены в 1871 году. В начале 20-го века греки острова Хиоси преподнесли церкви иконы Святого Николая, Пресвятой Богородицы и Святого Георгия. На западной стене храма находится памятный камень, где по-гречески написано: «Греческая церковь Святого Николая. Годы строительства 1865-1871».

В 30-е годы Храм Святого Николая постигла та же участь, что и многие другие религиозные строения по всему Советскому Союзу. Он был закрыт и передан в государственное пользование. В течение почти 20 лет церковь не функционировала, и только благодаря усилиям грузинской интеллигенции Храм Святого Николая вновь открылся в 1946 году. В этом же году прошли первые реставрационные работы, начатые на пожертвования православного населения Батуми. Второй этап реставрационных работ прошел в 1998-99 гг. На этот раз обновлению подверглась не только внешняя архитектура здания, но и внутренний интерьер.

На сегодняшний день, Церковь Святого Николая – это не только культовый памятник, но и один из красивейших архитектурных и исторических памятников города.

Saint Nicholas Church in Batumi

Saint Nicholas Church in BatumiThe St Nicholas Church is located in the very center of Batumi. This Church is more than 150 years old and it is one of the oldest churches in the city. An initiator of construction of the Church was the Greek community of Batumi headed by mayor of the city Ilya Efremidi, Greek by nationality. 

In 1854 when Efremidi became a new mayor of the city he undertook large-scale construction works. His activity pleased the Turkish authorities and they gave him their permission to build a temple but only without bells.

In 1865 the Greeks begin to build the temple on the land donated by Ilya Efremidi in favor of the temple. The money for construction of the temple was raised by the parishioners. The Temple became not only just a cultic building it was also the place where the life of the Greek community of Batumi was concentrated. From 1894 till 1898, there operated male and female schools as well as a cantorial which was considered one of the best choirs in Batumi. In 1878 Russian military troops brought a bell, which still decorates the temple up to date.

Saint Nicholas Church in BatumiThe St. Nicholas Church before the construction of the Blessed Virgin Mary Church was a cathedral church. The first service was administered there in 1871. Early in the XX century, the Greeks from Khiros Island presented the Church with the icons of St. Nicholas, Blessed Virgin Maria and St. George. On the western wall of the Church there is a memorial stone bearing an inscription in Greek “The Greek Church of St. Nicholas. Construction period is 1865-1871”.

In the 30-s the St. Nicholas Church suffered the fate of many other religious structures in the whole territory of the Soviet Union. It was closed and delivered to the possession of the government. Almost during 20 years the Church did not work and only due to the efforts of the Georgian intelligentsia, the St. Nicholas Church was re-opened in 1946. In the same year the first restoration works were carried out started on the donations contributed by the Orthodox community of Batumi. The second stage of the restoration works was carried out in 1998-99. This time not only the external architecture of the building was subject to renovation but its interior as well.

Nowadays the St. Nicholas Church is not only a cultic monument but also one of the city’s most beautiful architectural and historical monuments.