Advantour Scheduled Uzbekistan Tours

Hotels Tours Flights Visa Airport Service
Home > Silk Road > Central Asia > Kazakhstan About Us - Advantour Staff - Worldwide Partners - Contacts

Kazakhstan Politics

Political System of Kazakhstan

Political system and government of Kazakhstan

According to the Constitution, adopted at the national referendum on August 30, 1995, the Republic of Kazakhstan is a unitary state with a presidential form of government, which has three independent branches: executive, legislative and judicial.


President is the head of the state, elected by a national popular vote. Presidential term is five years. Nursultan Abishevich Nazarbayev was re-elected President of the Republic of Kazakhstan for the fourth time at early presidential elections held on April 3, 2011.

Executive branch

Executive power is exercised by the Government of the Republic of Kazakhstan. Composition of the Government is formed by the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan in accordance with the Constitution.

Legislative branch

Legislative power is vested in the bicameral parliament. Parliament has two chambers: the Senate and the Majilis. The Senate consists of deputies: two persons from each province, city of national importance and the capital. The Majilis consists of 107 members. Member of the Parliament cannot be simultaneously a member of both chambers. The term of office of the Senate members is six years; the term of office of the Majilis members is five years.

Judicial branch

Judicial power is vested in the Constitutional Court and a system of local courts. Courts of the Republic are the Supreme Court of the Republic, local courts and other courts of the Republic, established by the legislation.

The administrative divisions

Kazakhstan is divided into 14 provinces:

  • Akmola province
  • Aktobe province
  • Almaty province
  • Atyrau province
  • East Kazakhstan province
  • Zhambyl province
  • West Kazakhstan province
  • Karagandy province
  • Kostanay province
  • Kyzylorda province
  • Mangystau province
  • Pavlodar province
  • North Kazakhstan province
  • South Kazakhstan province

Capital city of Astana and Almaty have the status of State importance and do not relate to any province. Baikonur city has a special status.

Local authority

Akimat is a regional executive body in Kazakhstan. Akim is the head of akimat and represents the President and the Government of the Republic in the province.

silk road : central asia : uzbekistan : kyrgyzstan : kazakhstan : tajikistan : turkmenistan
russia : azerbaijan : georgia: armenia : china
Copyright © 2001-2014 Advantour. All rights reserved, Privacy Policy
Advantour Kyrgyzstan
Tel.: +996 312 900 592

All Contacts
Scheduled Central Asia Tour 2015