Advantour Scheduled Uzbekistan Tours

Russia Tours Visa Hotels
Home > Russia > Politics About Us - Our People - Worldwide Partners - Contacts

Politics of Russia

Russian Politics. Branches of Government

Russia is a federated state with a republican government. The territory of the state consists of 89 constituents of the Federation. The Head of State is the President elected for 4 years’ term. The President is also the supreme commander of the armed forces of the Russian Federation. The representative and legislative body of the country is the Federal Assembly (Russian Parliament) composed of two chambers: the Federation Council and State Duma. The executive authority is represented by the Government of the Russian Federation.

A Brief History of Russian Statehood

From the very beginning of Russian history (the 10th century) Russia was a monarchy: the early feudal monarchy era of Kievan Rus was replaced by the grand-ducal period (13th – 15th centuries). Then came the era of the imperial (16th century) and absolute monarchies (18th – early 20th century).

In 1917 Russia joined the USSR as one of the Soviet Union republics while preserving the role of the center.

On December 12, 1991 Russia declared its independence. On December 8, 1991 during Belovezhskaya meeting the heads of Russia, Byelorussia and Ukraine declared the termination of the Soviet Union and formation of the Commonwealth of Independent States, which included Russia.

On December 12, 1993 as a result of the popular vote, the Constitution was adopted, and the State Duma elected.

central asia : uzbekistan : kyrgyzstan : kazakhstan : tajikistan : turkmenistan
silk road : azerbaijan : georgia: armenia : china
Copyright © 2001-2014 Advantour. All rights reserved.
Advantour Uzbekistan
Tel.: +998 71 1503020

All Contacts