Медресе Мухаммад Рахимхана, Хива

Медресе Мухаммад Рахимхана в Хиве, УзбекистанМухаммад Рахимхан был одним из самых просвещенных представителей династии кунграт, правивших Хивинским ханством с 1770 года. Во время его правления были проведены многочисленные работы по благоустройству городов, а так же реформы в области политики, экономики, но, что важнее всего, в области образования. Его реформы в области образования привели к открытию в Хиве первых «новометодных» школ (школы, где преподавали не только религиозные, но и светские науки). Венцом его деятельности стало возведение одного из самых больших в Средней Азии медресе, названного в честь Мухаммад Рахимхана. В медресе Мухаммад Рахимхана преподавались не только религия и Коран, но так же изучались светские науки: математика, астрономия, география. Наряду с изучением различных наук и теологии, ученики медресе слагали стихотворения, проводили диспуты.

Обучение в медресе Мухаммад Рахимхана намного отличалось от традиционной для исламских университетов формы. Этому немало способствовала личность самого Мухаммад Рахимхана. Он был образованным и просвещенным правителем, писал стихи под псевдонимом Феруз. Бывало, что он лично участвовал в дискуссиях с учениками медресе.

Строительство медресе Мухаммад Рахимхана было закончено в 1876 году. Оно является одним из самых больших на территории Средней Азии. Медресе представляет собой двухэтажное здание с высоким входным порталом. Двор медресе четырехайванный, по углам расположены маленькие башенки. Также внутри находятся 76 худжр (внутренние жилые помещения медресе). В медресе есть дарсхона – учебная часть, зимняя и летняя мечети, а так же богатая библиотека. Медресе Мухаммад Рахимхана воплощает в себе дух просвещения. Оно является ярким образцом культуры зодчества той эпохи и занимает свою особую страницу в истории Хорезма.

Muhammad Rahim-khan Madrasah, Khiva

Madrasah of Muhammad Rahim-khan, KhivaMuhammad Rahim-khan was one of the most educated representatives of Kungrat dynasty ever to rule in Khiva since 1770. During his rule, a number of reforms were carried out in improvement of cities, in policy, economy, but, that was the most important, in education. His reforms in education resulted in opening of the first ‘new type’ of schools in Khiva where not only religious but also secular subjects were taught. The construction of one of the largest madrasahs in the Central Asia in his own honour became the apotheoses of his rule. Not only the religion and the Koran but also secular subjects such as mathematics, astronomy, geography were taught at the Muhammad Rahim-khan Madrasah. Along with studying various sciences and theology, madrasah students composed poems, held debates.

The educational process at the Muhammad Rahim-khan Madrasah differed from traditional education at other Islamic universities. To a large extend, it was facilitated by Muhammad Rahim-khan himself. He was well-educated and enlightened monarch, he used to write poems under the pseudonym Feruz. Often, he personally participated in discussions with the madrasah students.

The construction of the Muhammad Rahim-khan Madrasah completed in 1876 and it became one of the largest in the territory of the Central Asia. The madrasah appeared as two-storeyed building with a high entrance portal. The Muhammad Rahim-khan Madrasah’s yard had four aiwans with four small turrets at the corners. There were 76 hudjrs inside (internal living rooms).The madrasah also had darskhona – a teaching bulk, summer and winter mosques and an extensive library. Muhammad Rahim-khan madrasah encapsulated the spirit of enlightenment. It is a bright sample of culture of architecture of that epoch and takes a special niche in the history of Khoresm.