Pope Clement Church

Pope Clement Church

source:photosight.ru

The Orthodox Church of the martyr Pope Clement was first mentioned in the 17th century as a wooden church built on the spot where in 1612 the militia of Minin and Pozharsky had seized the fortress with the Poles.

The construction of the present cathedral began in 1762. The main building of the church was completed in 1769. The main altar of the Cathedral of the Transfiguration of the Savior was consecrated in 1770. Clement, the Pope, a close disciple of the Apostle Peter, was born in a noble Roman family in the 1st century. The relics of Pope Clement were brought to Russia by Prince Vladimir. Clement was highly revered in Russia, he was prayed for the health and welfare of children, family reunification, the return of the loved ones. In 1934-1935 the church was closed. The Clement Church has preserved its grand interior, the gilt multi-tiered iconostasis of the 18th century, the carved images of angels and rare icons.