Кыргызские жайлоо

Летние пастбища кыргызских кочевников - Жайлоо

Кыргызстан: летнее пастбище - жайлооНа протяжении трех тысячелетий кочевое скотоводство являлось основной формой хозяйства кыргызов. Сезонные перекочевки делились на зимние – кыштоо, весенние – жаздоо, летние – жайлоо и осенние – кuздoo. Для зимних пастбищ использовались долины и межгорные лощины. Они являлись естественными средствами защиты стада от снежных буранов и ветров. Осенние и весенние пастбища обычно размещались на близлежащих от зимовок земельных угодьях, которые рано освобождались от снежного покрова. Летние пастбища располагались в межгорных альпийских долинах с обильным растительным покровом и наличием естественных водных ресурсов.

Жайлоо – это летние пастбища киргизов-кочевников, которые находятся в предгорных и горных районах страны. Этот термин, как и сама традиция перекочёвки на летние пастбища имеет очень древние исторические корни, которые уходят к истории тюркских народов. На сегодняшний день площадь летних пастбищ у киргизов достигает 3,9 млн. га.

Кыргызстан: летнее пастбище - жайлооВ тюркской транскрипции жайлоо обозначается как яйлаг (яй-лето). Со временем среди тюркских народов слово деформировалось: у киргизов на жайлоо, у казахов на жайлау, а у туркмен остался термин яйлак.

Интересен тот факт, что зимние пастбища назывались у кочевников – кишлаг (от слова киш-зима). Этот термин прижился, так что на сегодняшний день сельские местности в Средней Азии называются кишлаками. Но только у киргизов традиционно осталось разделение на сезонные пастбища. В других странах региона эта традиция постепенно устаревает.

На просторах Киргизии расположено множество летних пастбищ-жайлоо. Так туристы могут посетить и пожить как кочевники на пастбищах в ущелье Беш-Таш. Традиционное жайлоо, которое летом могут посетить путешественники, находится и в ущелье Семёновское. Здесь все желающие могут пожить в традиционных юртах и отведать блюда киргизской кухни.

Кыргызстан: летнее пастбище - жайлооТакже летние пастбища находятся вокруг второго по величине озера в Киргизии - озера Сон-Куль. Это горное озеро расположено на высоте 3016 м в горах Тянь-Шаня. Оно лежит на горной равнине, окружённой лугами (жайлоо). Это одно из самых древних мест для летнего выгона скота, о чем свидетельствуют наскальные рисунки, найденные на побережье.

Жайлоо для киргизов – это не просто пастбища для выгона скота, это очень древняя киргизская традиция, которая, даже несмотря на современный мир, глубоко почитается и сохраняется в культуре киргизского народа.

Kyrgyz Jailoo

Jailoo - summer pastures of Kyrgyz nomades

Kyrgyzstan: summer pasture - jailooNomadic cattle breeding was the main form of farm business of the Kyrgyz over three millenniums. Seasonal roaming was divided into winter (kyshtoo), spring (jazdoo), summer (jayloo) and autumn (kyzdoo) ones. As winter pastures, the valleys and intermontane hollows which were natural places for protection of herds and flocks from snowstorms and winds were used. Autumn and spring pastures were usually found at the holdings nearest to the hibernation, because of early thawing of a mantle of snow there. Summer pastures were located in intermontane valleys featured with heavy vegetative cover and natural water storages.

Jayloo, summer pastures of Kirgiz nomads were found in the piedmont and hilly regions of the country. The origin of this word as the tradition of roaming to summer pastures itself is dating back to the ancient history of the Turkic peoples. Nowadays the Kirgiz have 3,900 000 ha of their territory occupied by summer pastures.

Kyrgyzstan: summer pasture - jailooTurkic transcription for jayloo is written as yaylag (yay means summer). In course of time the word was transformed to jayloo by the Kirgiz, to jaylau by the Kazakh and it was only the Turkmen who preserved the word yajak as it is.

It is an interesting fact that the nomads called winter pastures as kishlag (kish means winter). This term found its application and so up to date the countryside in Central Asia is called kishlak. The Kirgiz alone retained the traditional division into seasonal pastures. This tradition however is becoming obsolete in other countries of the region.

There are a lot of summer pastures – jayloo in the vastness of Kirgizia. So the tourists may visit them and live as nomads on the pastures in the Besh-Tash Gorge. The traditional jayloo to be visited by the tourists is situated in the Semyenov Gorge. Everybody can live there in traditional yurts (nomadic tents) and enjoy dishes of the Kirgiz cuisine.

Kyrgyzstan: summer pasture - jailooThe summer pastures can also be found around Lake Son-Kul, the second largest one in Kirgizia. This highland lake is located in the Tien Shan Mountains at the height of 3016m. It is located on a mountain plain surrounded by meadows (jayloo). This is one of the ancient places for summer cattle stripping which fact is confirmed by petroglyphic drawings found at the lakeside.

A jayloo means for the Kirgiz more than just a pasture for cattle stripping, this is a very ancient tradition which despite of the modern world is deeply respected and preserved in the culture of the Kirgiz people.