La Cathédrale d'Assumption

La Cathédrale d'Assumption - le plus ancien temple de Rostov

La Cathédrale d'Assumption, RostovLa place Synodique s’installe au centre de la ville. Vous y verrez le temple le plus ancien de Rostov, une magnifique cathédrale  d'Assumption, qui était fondée encore au temps d'Yaroslav le Sage. À cette époque-là sur la place centrale de la ville il y avait une église en bois. Elle a brûlé en 1060.

Au temps d'Andreï Bogoljubsky, en 1161-1162, le temple en pierre est élevé à la place de l'église. À vrai dire, le bâtiment a existé seulement quelques dizaines des années - au début du XIIIème siècle il s'est écroulé. Le temple brûlait maintes fois et se rétablissait. Et seulement en 1473 à la place de l'ancien temple on a érigé une nouvelle cathédrale magnifique à cinq sommets, qui est aujourd'hui un trésor architectural de l'ancien Rostov.

En 1314, on a baptisé l’adolescent Varfolomey, futur révérend Sergui Radonezhsky dans la cathédrale d'Assumption. En 1682-87 on a construit le clocher célèbre de la cathédrale d'Assumption Au total sur le clocher il y a 15 cloches. Parmi eux le plus grand est Sissoy, dont le poids est 32 tonnes. Son tintement était audible loin en dehors de Rostov.

Assumption Cathedral

Assumption Cathedral, the oldest church in Rostov

Assumption Cathedral, Rostov
source: rostovru.ru

In the center of the city there is the Cathedral Square. There you will see the oldest church in Rostov, the magnificent Assumption Cathedral, which was founded in the time of Yaroslav the Wise. First a wooden church appeared on the central square. It burned down in 1060.

In the time of Andrew Bogolyubsky, in 1161-1162, the site was used for the single-domed stone temple. However, the building lasted only for a few decades - in the beginning of the 13th century it collapsed. The temple was repeatedly burned and rebuilt. Only in 1473 on the site of the ancient temple was erected a magnificent new five-domed cathedral, which today is the architectural treasure of ancient Rostov.

In 1314 the infant Bartholomew, the future St. Sergius of Radonezh was baptized there. In the years of 1682-1687 the famous bell tower of the Assumption Cathedral was erected. There are 15 bells on the belfry. The biggest among them is the Sysoy, weighing 32 tons. Its chime could be heard far beyond the borders of Rostov.