Общая информация о Казахстане

Карта и национальные символы Казахстана

Казахстан расположен в сердце евразийского континента. Его территория составляет 2 724 900 кв. км (1 049 150 кв. миль). Это – вторая в СНГ и девятая в мире по величине страна. По своей территории Казахстан крупнее, чем двенадцать стран Европейского союза! Граничит Казахстан с Китаем, Кыргызстаном, Туркменией, Узбекистаном и Россией. Общая протяженность границ – 12187 км.

Казахстан тянется более чем на 3000 км (два часовых пояса) от низовий Волги на западе к предгорьям Алтайских гор на востоке и почти на 2000 км от Западно-Сибирской низменности на севере к пустыне Кызылкум на юге.

Отдаленность страны от океанов и обширность ее территории определяют и климатические условия Казахстана. Климат здесь резко-континентальный со средней температурой между - 19…-4 °C в январе и в июле между +19…+26 °C. Зимой температура может снизиться до - 45 °C, а летом подняться до +30 °C. 

Население: 17,948,000 (01.07.2014)
Столица: Астана (с 10 декабря 1997) с населением 828 759 человек (02.06.2014).

Административно-территориальное деление: Административно Казахстан делится на 14 областей, 84 города, 159 районов, 241 город и 2 042 аула.

По численности населения города Казахстана подразделяются следующим образом:

  • 300-400 тыс. жителей – Караганда, Шымкент, Павлодар, Тараз и Усть-Каменогорск;
  • 200-280 тыс. жителей – Уральск, Темиртау, Кустанай, Актюбе, Петропавловск и Семипалатинск;
  • 110-160 тыс. жителей – Джезказган, Экибастуз, Кзыл-Орда, Актау, Кокшетау и Атырау.

Язык: Казахский язык принят в качестве государственного. Также широко используется русский язык.

Валюта: Казахская валюта – тенге, равный 100 тыйнам (с 1993 года). 

Государственная символика: Флаг, герб

Праздники в Республике Казахстан:

Национальный праздник:

  • День Независимости - 16 – 17 декабря.

Государственные праздники:

  • Новый год - 1-2 января;
  • Международный женский день – 8 марта;
  • Наурыз мейрамы – 21-23 марта;
  • Праздник единства народа Казахстана – 1 мая;
  • День защитника Отечества - 7 мая;
  • День Победы – 9 мая;
  • День Столицы – 6 июля;
  • День Конституции Республики Казахстан – 30 августа;
  • День Первого Президента Республики Казахстан – 1 декабря.
  • Первый день Курбан-айта, отмечаемого по мусульманскому календарю и 7 января - православное Рождество являются выходными днями.

Религия: Республика Казахстан – многонациональное государство, населяемое представителями более чем 120 наций. Основная религия – ислам, но казахи проявляют веротерпимость и к другим религиям народов, населяющих их территорию, таким как христианство, иудаизм и пр. За последние годы в стране было построено много мечетей и церквей.

География: На территории Казахстана протекает 8500 рек. Длина семи из них (самых протяженных) превышает 1000 км, включая Урал и Эмбу, впадающие в Каспийское море, Сырдарью, впадающую в Аральское море и Иртыш, Ишим и Тобол, несущие свои воды к Северному Ледовитому океану. В Казахстане 48 тысяч озер. Самые крупные из них – Балхаш, Зайсан, Алаколь, Тенгиз и Селетенгиз. Казахстан занимает северное и половину восточного побережья Каспийского моря. Казахстанская береговая линия Каспийского моря равна 2340 км. Большая часть территории Казахстана занята пустынями и степями. Остальную часть площади занимают полупустыни и леса. Флора и фауна состоят из 155 разновидностей млекопитающих, 480 видов птиц, 150 видов рыб и приблизительно 250 разновидностей лекарственных растений, среди которых очень редкие экземпляры.

Полезные ископаемые: Огромная территория Казахстана богата полезными ископаемыми. Предприятия по добыче и обработке угля, нефти, газа, цветных и черных металлов играют ведущую роль в народном хозяйстве. Главные полезные ископаемые: руды цветных и черных металлов, уран. В Казахстане разведаны самые большие в мире запасы хрома, ванадия, висмута, фтора, железа, цинка, вольфрама, молибдена, фосфорита, меди, калия, кобальта, каолина и кадмия. В стране около 160 месторождений нефти и газа, включая самое крупное – Тенгизское. Извлекаемые запасы Тенгизского и Королевского месторождений оцениваются от 750 млн. до 1,1 млрд. тонн нефти. Казахстан имеет 160 млн. тонн запасов угля в 155 точках, включая 10 месторождений угля, битума и бурого угля. Ресурсы железной руды в Казахстане одни из самых чистых от примесей в мире. Казахстан занимает второе место в мире по запасам фосфорита (после России), благодаря месторождениям Жанатас и Каратау. Казахстан – мировой лидер и в производстве алюминия. Огромные запасы медной руды обнаружены в Джезказгане – втором по величине месторождении в мире. Казахстан имеет значительные ресурсы соли и строительных лесоматериалов.

General Information

Kazakhstan - General Information

Kazakhstan map

Kazakhstan is located in the heart of the Eurasian continent. Its territory occupies 2, 724, 900 square kilometers (1,049,150 square miles). It is the CIS’ second and world’s ninth largest country. The Kazakhstan territory is larger than the twelve countries of the European Union! Kazakhstan borders with China, Kyrgyzstan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Russia. The total length of the borderline is 12,187km.

Kazakhstan stretches for more than 3,000 km (covering two time zones) from the lower reaches of the Volga in the west to the foothills of the Altai Mountains in the east, and almost 2,000 km from the West Siberian Lowland in the north to the Kyzyl Kum desert in the south.

The remoteness of the country from the oceans and the vastness of its territory affect the climatic conditions of Kazakhstan. The climate is sharply continental with an average temperature between - 19…-4 degree in January and between +19…+26 degree in July. The temperature in winter can lower to - 45 degree while in summer rise up to +30 degree.

Population: 17,948,000 (as of 01.07.2014)
Capital: Astana (since December 10, 1997) with population of 828,759 (as of 02.06.2014).

Administrative-territorial division: Administratively, Kazakhstan is divided into 14 regions, 84 cities, 159 districts, 241 towns and 2,042 auls (villages).

In terms of number of inhabitants Kazakhstan is divided as follows:

• 300,000 - 400,000 inhabitants – Karaganda, Shymkent, Pavlodar, Taraz and Ust-Kamenogorsk;
• 200,000 - 280,000 inhabitants – Uralsk, Temirtau Kustanai, Aktobe, Petropavlovsk and Semipalatinsk;
• 110,000 - 160,000 inhabitants – Dzhezkazgan, Ekibastuz, Kyzyl Orda, Aktau, Kokshetau and Atyrau.

Language: The Kazakh language is adopted as the state one. Russian is also widely used.

Currency: Kazakh currency is tenge (KZT) equal to 100 tyins (since 1993).

State symbols: Flag, national emblem

Holidays in the Republic of Kazakhstan:

National holiday:

• Independence Day–16- 17 December.

Public holidays:

• New Year - 1-2 January;
• International Women’s Day – 8 March;
• Nauryz Meyramy – 21-23 March;
• Kazakhstan Peoples’ Unity Day– 1 May
• Fatherland Defender’s Day – 7 May;
• Victory Day– 9 May;
• Capital City Day – 6 July;
• Constitution Day of the Republic of Kazakhstan – 30 August;
• Day of the First President of the Republic of Kazakhstan – 1 December.
• The first day of Kurban-ayt, observed by Muslim calendar and 7 January – orthodox Christmas are also non-working days.

Religion: The Republic of Kazakhstan is a multinational state, inhabited by more than 120 nationalities. The main religion is Islam, but the Kazakhs manifest tolerance towards other religions of the peoples living in their territory, such as Christianity, Judaism, etc. The country has built many mosques and churches in recent years.

Geography: The Kazakh territory is fed by 8,500 rivers. The length of seven of them (the longest ones) exceeds 1000 km, including the Ural and Emba flowing into the Caspian Sea, the Syr Darya, flowing into the Aral Sea and the Irtysh, Ishim and Tobol, carrying their water to the Arctic Ocean. Kazakhstan has 48,000 lakes. The largest of them are Balkhash, Zaisan, Alakol, Tengiz and Seletengiz. Kazakhstan occupies the northern part and half of the eastern coast of the Caspian Sea. The Kazakh part of the Caspian Sea coastline is 2340 km. The major part of Kazakhstan is occupied by deserts and steppes. The rest of the area is covered by semi-deserts and forests. The flora and fauna consist of 155 species of mammals, 480 species of birds, 150 species of fishes and about 250 species of medicinal plants, with very rare ones among them.

Mineral resources: The huge territory of Kazakhstan is rich in minerals. The mining and processing plants for coal, oil, gas, ferrous and non-ferrous metals play an important role in the national economy. The main minerals are ores of nonferrous and ferrous metals, uranium. Kazakhstan has explored the world's largest reserves of chromium, vanadium, bismuth, fluorine, iron, zinc, tungsten, molybdenum, phosphorite, copper, potassium, cobalt, kaolin and cadmium. The country has about 160 oil and gas fields, including the largest one - Tengiz. Recoverable reserves of the Tengiz and Korolev fields are estimated from 750,000,000 to 1,100,000 tons of oil. Kazakhstan has 160,000 tons of coal resources at 155 sites, including 10 deposits of coal, bitumen and lignite. The iron ore resources in Kazakhstan are among the world’s cleanest, free of impurities. Thanks to Zhanatas and Karatau deposits, Kazakhstan is the world’s second largest in reserves of phosphorite (after Russia). Kazakhstan is the world’s leading aluminum producer . The huge reserves of copper ore found in Dzhezkazgan are the second largest oilfield in the world. Kazakhstan has significant resources of salt and construction timber.