Кырк Молла, Куня-Ургенч

Кырк Молла – место паломничества в Туркменистане

Кырк Молла, Куня-УргенчВ Куня-Ургенче расположен священный холм Кырк Молла, что в переводе с тюркского означает «40 мулл». Он расположен на северо-востоке города, недалеко от Мавзолея Султана Текеша. Площадь кургана составляет около 3 га, а максимальная высота – 12, 5 м.

Это место является древнейшим центром Гурганджа (старое название Куня-Ургенча). Во время раскопок на нем, была обнаружена крепостная стена античного периода и алтарь. В средние века на месте холма находилась знаменитая библиотека Мамуна.

По местной легенде, во время монгольского нашествия 40 ученых, живших в библиотеке, начали молиться о спасении хранившихся здесь бесценных рукописей. При приближении неприятеля, библиотека перевернулась и ушла под землю.

У подножия священного холма расположено кладбище. Место посещают паломники, в основном бесплодные женщины, которые совершают на этом месте странный ритуал. Помолившись Аллаху и закутавшись в плащ или одеяло, они скатываются с холма вниз. Таким образом, они просят святых о помощи. Со своими просьбами сюда также приходят мужчины, которые молятся на вершине холма.

Kyrk Molla, Kunya-Urgench

Kyrk Molla – a place of pilgrimage in Turkmenistan

Kyrk Molla, Kunya-UrgenchThe sacred hill Kyrk Molla, “40 mullahs” in Turkic, is found in Kunya-Urgench. It is located to the north- east from the city, near the Sultan Tekesh Mausoleum. The hill area is about 3 ha and its maximum height is 12.5m.

This place is the ancient center of Gurganj (an old name of Kunya-Urgench). The excavations there revealed a vallum of the ancient period and an altar. In the Middle Ages on the site of the hill there was the famous Mamun Library.

According to a local legend, during the Mongol invasion 40 scholars who lived in the library began to pray for the salvation of the priceless manuscripts, stored there. When the enemy approached, the library tipped over and went underground.

At the foot of the sacred hill there is a cemetery. This place is visited by pilgrims, mostly by infertile women who have a strange ritual at that place. After praying to Allah they wrap in a cloak or a blanket and roll down the hill. They ask the saints to help them this way. Men with their requests also come there to pray on a hilltop.