Аральское море

Аральское море, Узбекистан

Трагедия высыхающего Аральского моря

Аральское море… Сегодня с названием этого озера связана экологическая катастрофа. Но каким оно был еще 60 лет назад? Аральское море расположено на границе Казахстана и Узбекистана. До начала обмеления Аральское море было четвёртым по величине озером в мире. Здесь были порты, рыбные заводы, по Аралу плавали рыболовецкие флотилии. До 80-х годов XX века здесь водилось 34 вида рыбы, 20 из которых имели промысловое значение. Аральское море пересыхало несколько раз за всю историю своего существования. Об этом говорят многочисленные остатки флоры и фауны, обнаруженные на высохшем дне Аральского моря. Ученые считают, что в середине кайнозойской эры (21 млн лет назад) Аральское море было соединёно с Каспием, но затем русла соединяющих рек пересохли, отделив моря друг от друга.

Аральское море
Аральское море
Аральское море

Первые исследования Аральского моря были проведены русской экспедицией А.Бутакова в 1849 году. Через год Гидрографическим департаментом Морского министерства Российской империи была издана первая карта Аральского моря. А еще через три года в плавание по Аральскому морю отправился первый пароход. Начало промышленному лову рыбы в Аральском море положили известные российские купцы Лапшин, Риткин, Красильников, Макеев, организовавшие впоследствии крупные рыбацкие союзы. В 1950-х годах Аральское море занимало около 68 тыс. кв. км. Его длина составляла 426 км., ширина — 284 км., наибольшая глубина — 68 м.. Аральское море начало высыхать в 60-е гг., когда вода из впадающих в него рек стала использоваться для орошения полей.

В 1989 году Аральское море распалось на два изолированных водоёма - Малое Аральское море на территории Казахстана и Большое Аральское море на территории Узбекистана. К началу 2000-х гг. абсолютный уровень воды в море снизился до отметки в 31 м., что на 22 м. ниже исходного уровня, наблюдавшегося в конце 1950-х гг.. В 2001 году Южное (Большое) Аральское море разделилось на западную и восточные части. В 2003 году площадь поверхности Аральского моря составляла около четверти первоначальной, а объём воды — около 10%. Сегодня на месте некогда глубоководного моря образуется новая песчано-солончаковая пустыня Аралкум, площадь которой уже составляет 38 тыс. кв. км.

Тур к Аральскому морю

Advantour Scheduled Uzbekistan Tours 2014
ENG  РУС  DEU  FRA  日本語 

Hotels Tours Flights Trains Visa Transfer Service Business travel Transportation
Home > Silk Road > Central Asia > Uzbekistan About Us - Our People - Worldwide Partners - Contacts

Aral Sea


The Aral Sea: the tradegy of the drying sea

Aral Sea, Uzbekistan

The Aral Sea... Today, the name of the lake is related with the environmental disaster. But how did it look 60 years ago? The Aral Sea is located on the border between Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan. Prior to the shallowing, the Aral Sea was the fourth largest lake in the world. It had ports, fish plants and fishing boats floated on the Aral Sea. Up to the 80es of the 20th century it was inhabited by 34 species of fish, 20 of which had marketable value. During its history the Aral Sea has shrunk out several times as evidenced by the numerous remains of flora and fauna found in the dried bed of the Aral Sea. Various expeditions to the study of the Aral Sea were carried out. Scientists suppose that in the middle of the Cenozoic Era (21 million years ago) the Aral Sea was connected to the Caspian Sea, but then the rivers dried up, separating two seas apart.

Aral Sea, fishing boatThe first studies of the Aral Sea were conducted by the Russian expedition of A. Butakov in 1849; a year later the Hydrographic Department of the Marine Department of the Russian Empire published the first map of the Aral Sea. And three years later the first steamer set sail in the Aral Sea. The industrial fishing in the Aral Sea was started by well-known Russian merchants Lapshin, Ritkin, Krasilnikov, Makeev, who organized large fishing unions later. In the 1950s, the Aral Sea took about 68 thousand km²; it had the length of 426 km, the width of 284 km and the maximum depth of 68 m. The Aral Sea began to shallow in the 60s, when the water from rivers flowing into the sea was taken to the irrigation works. In 1989, the Aral Sea separated into two isolated reservoirs: the Small Aral Sea in Kazakhstan and the Large Aral Sea in Uzbekistan.

Aral Sea, ships cemeteryBy the early 2000s, the absolute water level in the sea went down to 31 m, which is 22 m lower than the initial level recorded in the late 1950s. In 2001, the South (Large) Aral Sea was divided into western and eastern parts. In 2003, the surface area of the Aral Sea was about a quarter of the original, and the volume of sea water was about 10%. Today, instead of the former deep sea, there is a new sand and saline Aralkum desert with the total area of 38 000 km².

The Aral Sea tour

silk road : central asia : uzbekistan : kyrgyzstan : kazakhstan : tajikistan : turkmenistan
russia : azerbaijan : georgia : armenia : china
Copyright © 2001-2014 Advantour. All rights reserved, Privacy Policy
Advantour Uzbekistan
Tel.: +998 71 1503020

All Contacts
Scheduled Central Asia Tour 2014