Народные праздники в Армении

Праздник «Трндез» отмечается в конце зимы. Этот праздник пришел из языческих времен поклонения огню. Прямо во дворе церкви разводят большой костер и молодожены прыгают через него, чтобы очиститься от всего плохого: зла, высокомерия и несчастий. С этим днем на землю Армении приходит весна...

Праздник «Цахказард» или «Царзардар» тоже посвящен приходу весны. В этот день люди приходят в церковь с опушившимися веточками вербы и, после освящения в церкви, надевают на головы молодых и детей ивовые веночки.

Летом, в начале августа, когда стано­вится особенно жарко и поля страдают от засухи, наступает спасительный праздник воды «Вардавар». В традиционном обливании водой друг друга на улицах города также угадываются древние корни языческих обрядов. С незапамятных времен помолвленные девушки за три недели до свадьбы должны были бросить в миску с водой пшеницу и овес, а когда зерна прорастали, то этой водой молодые поливали друг друга. Вардавар проходит достаточно весело.

День Святого Саркиса отмечается 13 февраля, накануне европейского Дня Святого Валентина - Дня всех влюбленных. В этот день девушки пекут специальное соленое печенье - «ахаблит». Печенье съедается перед сном и тот, кто явится девушке во сне и поднесет воды, чтобы напиться, тот и является суженым.

Holidays in Armenia

The holiday of “Trndez” is celebrated at the end of winter.  This holiday came from the pagan times of fire-worship.  This day a big fire is built right in the church yard and newly wedded couples jump over it to defecate themselves from everything bad: the evil, arrogance and misfortune. With this day spring comes to the land of Armenia... 

“Tsakhkazard” or “Tsarzardar” holiday as also dedicated to spring coming. This day people come to church bringing  feathered branches of willow, and upon their consecration in church, put them on the heads of the young and children.   
 
In summer at the beginning of August, when it is especially hot and the fields suffer from drought, a heaven-sent “Vardavar” water holiday arrives. The traditional swilling of each other in the city’s streets also confirms the ancient roots of profane rites. From times immemorial the betrothed girls three weeks before the wedding day should throw wheat and oats in a cuvette with water and when the grains germinate, the newly wedded couples swill each other with this water. Vardavar is celebrated rather cheerfully.  
 
St Sarkis Day is observed on 13 February, on the eve of European St. Valentine Day - Day of all enamored. This day the girls bake special  salty pastry – “arkhablit”. The pastry is to be eaten before a night sleep and he, who appears in a girl’s dream and brings water to her, will be her betrothed.