Сабаильский Замок, Баку

Это полумифический затонувший город-крепость, окруженный ореолом тайн, легенд и загадок. Сабаильский замок был одним из главных сооружений в оборонительной системе Баку. Сегодня он виден как небольшой остров в бухте Баку, хотя на протяжении столетий был знаменитой крепостью Азербайджана, но со временем ушел под воду, подобно мифической Атлантиде.

Впрочем, в отличие от Атлантиды, факт реальности Сабаильского замка однозначен. В 1232-35 годах ширваншах Фарибурз III для защиты Баку со стороны моря в Бакинской бухте стал строить крепость, названную впоследствии Сабаильским замком, известным также как Сабаиловский замок, Шахри Саба, Шахри Нау, подводный город, «баиловские камни».

Сабаильский замок был построен по проекту зодчего Зейнаддина ибн Абу Рашида Ширвани. Сооружение имеет вид сильно вытянутого неправильного прямоугольника (180х40 м). Фундамент по очертаниям полностью повторял островной берег. Крепостные стены замка имели толщину 1,5-2 м, сверху возвышались 15 башен - 3 из которых были круглыми, а 12 полукруглыми. В ходе раскопок были обнаружены фундаменты 9 жилых помещений. К западной стене примыкает разрушенная площадка - основание центральной башни, служившей одновременно сторожевой башней и маяком. Историки считают, что здесь был храм огнепоклонников.

Сабаильский Замок, Баку
Сабаильский Замок, Баку
Сабаильский Замок, Баку

По всей верхней части Сабаильского замка проходит полоса надписей на арабском языке и фарси, а также изображения человеческих лиц и фантастических животных. Общая длина художественной надписи около 400 метров. Среди прочитанных обрывков надписей обнаружены три фрагмента с датой сооружения - 632 г.х. (1234-1235 гг.), именем зодчего. Также в тексте надписи дана генеалогия династии Ширваншахов Мазьядидов, исполненная посредством изображения человеческих голов с короной. А рисунки различных животных показывают годы правления того или иного ширваншаха.

Эти надписи не имеют аналогов на всем Ближнем Востоке: впервые на мусульманском памятнике были найдены изображения людей и животных. К сожалению, верх крепости сегодня полностью разрушен, сохранилась только нижняя часть стен и башен. Часть надписей сегодня хранится на территории дворца Ширваншахов.

В 1306 году в результате сильнейшего землетрясения, происшедшего на юге Каспия, и повышения уровня моря Сабаильский замок погрузился в воду. С начала XIV века и до начала XVIII века сооружение было затоплено водами Каспия. В 1723 году в связи с понижением уровня Каспия из воды показалась вершина башни. Сегодня лишь малая часть крепости видна с набережной Баку.

Bayil Castle, Baku

This mythically sunken city is surrounded by an aura of secrets, legends and enigmas. Bayil Castle was once one of the most important structures for defending Baku. Now visible only as a small island in the bay off the shore of Baku, Bayil Castle was famous for centuries, then lost for centuries.

However, unlike Atlantis, the existence of Bayil Castle is unequivocal. In 1232-1235 Shirvanshah Fariburz III, in an attempt to protect Baku from the sea, began to construct a stronghold which later became Bayil Castle, also known as Sabayil Castle, Shakhri Saba, Shakhri Nau, "submerged city", or "Bayil Stones".

Bayil Castle was constructed under architect Zejnaddin ibn Abu Rashid Shirvani. The structure is similar to an extended irregular rectangular (180 х40) . The foundation shape was exactly the same as that of the island's coastline. Fortifications of the castle were 1.5-2 m thick with 15 towers 3 of which were round, and 12 - semicircular. During excavations, the foundations of 9 buildings were found. The western wall is adjoined with the destroyed platform - the basis of the central tower which was used simultaneously as a watchtower and a beacon. Historians also believe that there was a fire-worshippers' temple.

Bayil Castle, Baku
Bayil Castle, Baku
Bayil Castle, Baku

Along the entire upper part of the Bayil Castle ran a strip of inscriptions in Arabic and Farsi, together with the images of human faces and imaginary animals. The overall length of the inscription is about 400 meters. Among the decrypted parts of the inscription are three fragments with the construction date - the year of 632 AH (1234-1235 CE), and the name of the architect. Further in the text is the genealogy of Shirvanshahs Mazjadids dynasty, shown in the images of crowned busts. The figures of various animals designate the years of Shirvanshah rulers.

These inscriptions have no analogues in the Middle East; it was the first time that pictures of humans and animals were found on a Muslim monument. Unfortunately, the Bayil Castles' upper part is completely destroyed; only the bottom part of the walls and towers has survived. The inscriptions today are held in the courtyard of the Shirvanshah Palace.

In 1306, as a result of the strongest earthquake ever in the south of the Caspian Sea, the sea level rose and Bayil Castle sunk under water. From the early 14th century up to the early 18th century, the structure was under the Caspian Sea. In 1723 due to dropping sea levels in the  Caspian Sea, the top of the tower appeared above the water. Today, only a small bit of the fortress is visible from the coastline or viewpoints.