Мавзолей Момине-Хатун, Азербайджан

Мавзолей Момине-ХатунМавзолей построен атабеком Джаханом Пехлеваном в апреле 1186 года, для своей матери Момине-Хатун, которая вместе с супругом, первым атабеком Шамс ад-Дином Эл-Денизом (отцом Джахана Пехлевана), считается родоначальницей династии Эльдегизов и основательницей государства Атабеков.

Самый выдающийся памятник Нахичеваня мастерски декорирован сложным геометрическим орнаментом и письменами из Корана. Величественный десятигранный мавзолей был самым настоящим средневековым небоскребом, достигая в высоту 34 метров. Сегодня его высота составляет около 25 метров. 

Поверхность каждой грани (нишеобразная) полностью покрыта изящными резными арабскими письменами в куфическом стиле, стилизованными под геометрический орнамент. Причем на девяти из десяти граней орнамент – разный. Лишь один повторяется дважды – на нише, где был предусмотрен вход. По верху мавзолей Момине-Хатун украшен искусной сталактитовой композицией.

Захоронение Момине-Хатун находится под зданием, но входа к нему нет. Изнутри мавзолей имеет круглую форму. Единственными украшениями его интерьера служат четыре круглых медальона, покрытые надписями и орнаментом. Эти медальоны помещены на внутренней поверхности сферического купола мавзолея и содержат имена пророка Мухаммада, четырех праведных халифов: Абу Бакра, Омара, Османа Али и имамов-шиитов Хасана и Хусейна.

Мавзолей Момине-Хатун – одно из самых монументальных зданий азербайджанского зодчества, выполнен с поистине царским размахом.

Mausoleum of Momine-Khatun, Azerbaijan

Momine-Khatun MausoleumThe mausoleum was erected by atabek Dzhahan Pehlivan in April 1186 for his mother Momine-Khatun, who is considered with her husband, the first atabek Shams ad-Din al-Deniz (the father of Dzhahan Pehlivan) the ancestors of the Eldegiz dynasty and the founder of the state of Atabeks.

The most outstanding landmark Nachchivan is skillfully decorated with a complex geometric pattern and quotes from the Koran. Grand decahedral mausoleum was the real medieval skyscraper reaching 34 meters in height. Today it is only 25 meters high.

Each side of the surface is completely covered with exquisitely carved Arab writings in kufic style, styled as geometric patterns. What is more, ornaments of the nine out of ten (sides) are different. Only one repeats itself, on the recess where it was supposed to be an exit. The top of the mausoleum is decorated by a skilful stalactite composition.

The burial place of Momine-Khatun is under the building but there is no entrance to it. Inside the mausoleum has a round shape. The only decorations of its interior are four round medallions covered with inscriptions and ornaments. These medallions are placed on inner side of the spherical dome of the mausoleum and bear the names of the Prophet Mohammed, and four rashidun (caliphs) - Abu Bakr, Omar, Osman Ali, Hasan, Hussein.

The Mausoleum of Momine-Khatun is one of the most monumental buildings of Azerbaijan architecture and is distinguished by an imperial grandeur.