History of Georgia - Independent Georgia

Upon 1991’s declaration of independence, Zviad Gamsakhurdia was elected president of Georgia. However malfeasance occurred in January 1992 and Gamsakhurdia was displaced. In March 1992, Eduard Shevarnadze became Chairman.

Georgia entered a period of stability in the mid nineties. Georgian Parliament carried out economic reforms in cooperation with IMF and the World Bank. In the year 2000, Shevardnadze was elected President for the next five-year term. In 2003, Shevardnadze began to face opposition led The National Movement.

Opposition leaders organized peaceful demonstrations in the streets of Tbilisi which were dubbed the “Rose Revolution”. Shevardnadze announced his resignation. On January 4, 2004, early presidential elections were held and won by Mikheil Saakashvili, leader of the National Movement.

Since 2004, Georgia has experienced a period of accelerated growth and prosperity. The standard of living has improved drastically and infrastructural development is at an all time high.