Дом писателей Грузии, Тбилиси

Общая информация

Красивое здание с резными балконами на улице Мачабели, 13 когда-то играло заметную роль в богемной жизни Тбилиси. Сегодня здесь находится «Дом писателей Грузии», а построен он был в 1905 году и принадлежал известному бизнесмену Давиду Сараджишвили.

Давид Сараджишвили

Давид Сараджишвили был не только бизнесменом, но и ученым, общественным деятелем , основателем первого коньячного завода в Грузии и важной фигурой в деловых кругах . Сараджишвили родился в 1848 году в семье зажиточного купца. В 1878-1879 годах он жил во Франции и изучал виноделие. В 1888 году Давид Сараджишвили открыл первый коньячный завод в Тбилиси, а спустя несколько лет стал владельцем нескольких фабрик и магазинов в Грузии и России.

Он посвятил большую часть своей жизни благотворительности : финансировал стипендии талантливых студентов, желающих учиться за рубежом; спонсировал археологические экспедиции; жертвовал средства на восстановление исторических памятников Грузии, а также помогал писателям, издательствам и музыкантам.

За год до смерти Сараджишвили составил завещание, согласно которому 3 миллиона рублей должны были быть потрачены на развитие и поддержку различных светских мероприятий в Грузии. Деньги были поделены между литературными и историко-этнографическими обществами. Часть денег должна была быть передана Кутаисскому драматическому обществу для финансирования строительства театра в Кутаиси; часть - на создание высших учебных заведений и школ в Тбилиси и на предоставление стипендий студентам и помощь искусству. Также в завещании Сараджишвили уделил внимание строительству церквей и оказанию помощи местным производствам.

После смерти Давида его жена Екатерина Поракишвили взяла на себя не только благотворительную, но и коммерческую деятельность мужа. Объем производства коньяка увеличился вдвое. В 1889-1912 годах коньяк Сараджишвили получил международное признание и был удостоен золотых медалей на выставках в Париже, Брюсселе и Чикаго.

История строительства Тбилисского Дома писателей

Дом, который находится в Тбилиси на улице Иване Мачабели, принадлежал Давиду Сараджишвили и его жене Екатерине Поракишвили. Он был построен в 1903–1905 годах по проекту немецкого архитектора Карла Заара.

Эклектичная архитектура строения совмещает в себе элементы традиционной городской архитектуры Тбилиси и ар-нуво.

Двухэтажное здание внутренним двором выходит в просторный и живописный сад, а стены его украшены традиционными тбилисскими открытыми деревянными балконами. Компания «Villeroy and Boch» изготовила специальную серию керамической плитки для декорации крыльца здания. Особым изяществом отличается отделка балконов, а также интерьер дома, в основном выполненный из дерева. Автором знаменитого деревянного интерьера, библиотеки, фойе и внутреннего убранства был грузинский мастер Илья Мамацашвили.

Давид Сараджишвили открыл Дом писателей в день 25-летия их с женой свадьбы. Вскоре Дом стал важным центром культурной жизни города: здесь часто проводились встречи, собрания и литературные вечера. Здесь бывали известные общественные деятели, а знаменитый грузинский художник Гиго Габашвили впервые выставил свои работы.

После смерти Давида в доме жили его жена со своим братом. После смерти Екатерины дом купил грузинский фабрикант Акаки Хоштария, который продолжил традиции семьи Сараджишвили, и до 1921 года дом оставался литературным и культурным салоном.

После установления советской власти Хоштария был вынужден покинуть страну. В 1921-1923 годах дом принадлежал Обществу писателей и художников Грузии и назывался Дворцом искусств. С 1923 по 2007 год здесь размещался Союз писателей. В этом доме можно было увидеть многих известных грузинских писателей, в том числе Паоло Иашвили, Цициана Табидзе, Михаила Джавахишвили, Галактиона Табидзе, Константина Гамсахурдиа и многих других.

На протяжении многих лет Дом был эпицентром многих исторических событий. Он стал жертвой-символом террора и политических репрессий 1937-1938 годов. Многие писатели и поэты тех лет были вынуждены отказаться от своих принципов и принять советскую идеологию. Известный грузинский поэт Паоло Иашвили покончил жизнь самоубийством после продолжительной критики и ложных обвинений. Все сохранившиеся вещи и предметы, пережившие ту трагическую эпоху, до сих пор хранятся в Доме писателей.

Дом писателей сегодня

Сегодня в Доме писателей размещаются Национальный фонд развития грузинской литературы, Дом-музей Давида Сараджишвили и Музей репрессированных писателей. Знаменитое кафе «Литера» предлагает своим гостям традиционные грузинские блюда и вкуснейшие вина в прохладном саду внутреннего дворика.В 2017 году пять жилых комнат на третьем этаже Дома писателей были переоборудованы в гостевые комнаты, что сделало его одной из литературных резиденций мира. Писатели, художники и другие гости могут остановиться в номерах, которые когда-то принимали знаменитых гостей со всего мира. Каждый номер назван в честь одного из писателей, посвятивших Грузии свои литературные произведения: Александра Дюма, Низами Гянджеви, Бориса Пастернака, Марджори и Оливера Уордроп, Джона Стейнбека.

Дом писателей в Тбилиси – это идеальное место для любителей литературы, истории и вкусной кухни.

Writers’ House of Georgia, Tbilisi

Writers' House of Georgia is an alluring early 20th- century mansion in the Sololaki District of Tbilisi. Originally the residence of famous Georgian businessman Davit Sarajishvili, it served at the epicenter of local bohemian life and witnessed various historical events before opening to the public as a museum complex.

Davit Sarajishvili

Davit Sarajishvili was a businessman, scientist, public figure and, as the founder of the first brandy factory in Georgia, played an important role in the history of Georgian business enterprises. Sarajishvili was born in 1848 into a family of wealthy merchants. In 1878-1879, he studied winemaking in France, and in 1888 he opened the first brandy factory in Tbilisi. Within a few short years, Sarajishvili owned several factories and stores in both Georgia and Russia.

Davit Sarajishvili dedicated much of his wealth to philanthropy, providing scholarships so that talented students could study abroad, funding archaeological expeditions and financing the restoration of Georgia’s historical monuments. A patron of the arts, he actively supported writers, publishing houses and musicians.

A year before his death, Sarajishvili wrote a will in which he specified that 3 million rubles be divided between various social establishments in Georgia, including the literacy and historical-ethnographic societies, Kutaisi Drama Society and several Tbilisi schools and universities. Finances were also allocated toward student scholarship programs, the establishment of churches, the construction of a theatre in Kutaisi and local arts programs.

After Davit Sarajishvili’s death, his wife, Ekaterine Porakishvili, took over her husband's charitable and commercial activities. Under her leadership, the volume of brandy production doubled and from 1889-1912 Sarajishvili Brandy garnered international recognition, receiving gold medals at exhibitions in Paris, Brussels and Chicago.

History of Writers’ House of Georgia

Writers’ House of Georgia was built in 1903-1905 by German architect Karl Zaar. While best known as the residence of Davit Sarajishvili and Ekaterine Porakishvili, it has served as the epicenter of many historical events over the years.

The mansion’s eclectic design encapsulates elements of traditional Tbilisi urban architecture and Art Nouveau. The creator of the interior, noted for its décor, wooden features, library and foyer, was Georgian craftsman Ilia Mamatsashvili. The two-story building overlooks a beautiful garden with traditional Tbilisian open wooden balconies distinguished by their special ornamentation. The unique ceramic tiles used on the porch were specially created by the German manufacturer Villeroy and Boch.

Davit Sarajishvili and his wife moved into their home on their 25th wedding anniversary. It soon became a hub of the city's cultural life, with gatherings and literary events regularly held at the home. Well-known public figures often visited Sarajishvili House, including Akaki Tsereteli, Ivane Machabeli and Arthur Laist, and the works of famous Georgian painter Gigo Gabashvili were first exhibited in the Sarajishvilis’ home.

Ekaterine’s brother moved into the mansion after the death of Davit. Upon Ekaterine's death in 1911, the house was bought by Georgian manufacturer Akaki Khoshtaria, who continued to use the estate as a literary and cultural center until 1921, when the country fell under Soviet control and Khoshtaria was forced to flee the country.

From 1921-23, the house belonged to the Georgian Writers and Artists Society and was referred to as the Palace of Arts. From 1923-2007, it housed the Writers Union and was patronized by many famous Georgian authors, including Paolo Iashvili, Tsitsian Tabidze, Mikheil Javakhishvili, Galaktion Tabidze and Konstantine Gamsakhurdia.

Writers’ House became symbolic of the political repression and terror of 1937-1938, during which time writers and poets were forced to renounce their principles, accept Soviet ideology and even report on one another during their meetings. After enduring false accusations and ongoing criticism, famous Georgian poet Paolo Iashvili committed suicide on the second floor of Writers’ House. Memorabilia from these tragic events are now on display at the mansion inside the Museum of Repressed Writers.

Writers’ House of Georgia Today

Today, Writers’ House of Georgia remains a beautiful mansion which is open to the public. It houses the Davit Sarajishvili House-Museum, Museum of Repressed Writers, the National Fund for the Development of Georgian Literature and the famous Litera Café, where guests can enjoy traditional Georgian cuisine and wine in the estate’s inviting garden.

In 2017, five residential rooms on the third floor of the palace were converted into guest rooms where writers, artists and others can stay in the very rooms which once welcomed famous authors from around the world. The 5 rooms at Writers’ House Residency in Tbilisi are named after Alexandre Dumas, Nizami Ganjavi, Boris Pasternak, Marjory and Oliver Wardrop, and John Steinbeck, each of whom either wrote about Georgia or dedicated their literary works to the country.

Writers’ House of Georgia, located on 13 Machabeli Street in Tbilisi’s Sololaki District, is the ideal place to step into the literary world of historic Georgia.