Поющие дюны, Алтын-Эмель

Поющий бархан

Поющий бархан - уникальный природный феномен

Поющий бархан на территории заповедника Алтын-Эмель – одно из самых уникальных явлений природы. С ним связано множество легенд и сказаний. Долгое время ученые не понимали этого явления. А в средние века люди, слышавшие пение бархана, считали, что это воет шайтан пустыни.

Этот феномен природы расположен на правом берегу реки Или в 182 км от Алматы. В длину бархан достигает почти 3-х км, а в высоту 150 м. Это самый большой из известных барханов. Он тянется на несколько километров перпендикулярно хребтам Большой и Малый Калкан. С бархана открывается прекрасный вид на окружающую местность: реку Или и горы, а так же заповедник Алтын-Эмель.

Однако уникальность бархана заключается не только в том, что он «поёт». Так же редким считается то, что бархан образовался в местности среди каменных гор. Причина в выдувания песков с отмелей реки Или во время сильных ветров, которые поднимают с речных отмелей песчаную пыль. У Большого и Малого Калканов, стоящих под небольшим углом друг к другу, песок, подгоняемый ветрами, ударяется о каменную гряду и, оседая, образует наслоения. За многие века, выросла громадная песчаная гора, которая остается без движения вот уже несколько тысячелетий.

Пение бархана – это довольно редкий феномен. Ученые объясняют это тем, что при достаточно сухой погоде, когда песок медленно сыпется вниз, происходит эффект трения песчинок, в результате чего они электризуются. Происходит своеобразная вибрация, которая превращается в гудение, похожее на музыку органа. Чем больше песчинок участвуют в процессе, тем сильнее звучание бархана.

Часто путешественникам, что бы услышать пение, советуют в сухую погоду скатиться с вершины бархана, но при этом подъём на него затруднён тем, что ноги вязнут в песке, который тихо «журчит» под ногами.

Несмотря на то, что учёные изучили и объяснили этот феномен природы, до сих пор среди людей передаются легенды и мифы о поющем бархане. По одной из таких легенд под песками бархана спит шайтан, который строил козни людям, из-за чего прогневал Всевышнего. Всевышней лишил шайтана возможности молниеносно передвигаться, поэтому шайтан шел пешком до своего дома, который стоял на вершине горы. Проходя через реку Или, шайтан устал и решил заснуть, но бремя его прегрешений было так велико, что он спит до сих пор, погребенный песками бархана. Только иногда из его груди вырывается стон, который мы принимаем за пение.

The Singing Barchan, Altyn-Emel

Singing Barchan

The Singing Barchan - a unique phenomenon of nature

The Singing Barchan in the territory of the Altyn-Emel Reserve is one of the unique phenomenons of nature. A lot of legends and sagas are connected with it. Scholars were not able to understand this phenomenon for a long time. And people who lived in the Middle Ages hearing the barchans singing believed that it was a yawl of the shaitan of desert.

This phenomenon of nature is located on the right river-bank of the Ili, 182 km from Almaty. The barchan reaches almost 3 km in length and 150m in height. This is the largest one among the known barchans. It stretches several kilometers perpendicular to the Big and Small Kalkan ranges. From the top of the barchan a beautiful sight is greeted to the surrounding countryside: the Ili River, mountains and Altyn-Emel Reserve.
However the barchan unicity is not only in its “singing”. The fact that it is formed in the place among Rocky Mountains is also rare. The reason for it is blowing out of sands from the Ili sandbanks during fresh gales, which rise sandy dust from the river sandbanks. At the Big and Small Kalkan, spreading under a small angle to each other, the sand forced by the winds smashes against the rocky ridge and subsides forming beddings. A huge sandy mountain being stationary as long as several millenniums has been built up over many centuries.

The barchans signing is rather uncommon phenomenon. The scientists associated it with rather dry weather; the sand pouring down causes a friction effect of the grains, which results in their electrification. Something like vibration occurs, which turns into a boom sounding like the pipe organ. The more grains are involved in the process, the stronger the barchan is sounding.

In order to hear its singing the travelers are often advised to roll downhill in dry weather though climbing to the barchan top is hampered because the legs are sinking in the sand, which is “bubbling” underfoot.

In spite of the fact that the scientists have already studied and explained this phenomenon of nature, people are still narrating legends and myths about the signing barchan. According to one of these legends it was a shaitan sleeping under the barchan. It was intriguing against the people and thereby made God angry. God deprived him the ability to move at lightning speed that is why the shaitan was going on foot to its dwelling which located on the mountain peak. Passing the Ili River the shaitan got tired and decided to go to sleep, but a burden of its trespasses was so great that it is still sleeping, buried with the barchans sands. From time to time a groan is escaping from its sternum, which groans we are taking for singing.