St. Astvatsatsin Church, Yerevan
The ancient St. Astvatsatsin church suffered badly from the destructive earthquake of 1679 and in the end of the 17 th century was restored on the money donated by local residents.
St. Astvatsatsin church is a simple basilica. In the hall for prayers there is the main altar and two big columns. The cut khachkars are only decoration of the internal walls of the church. On one of them the name of its author - Keram is cut. The church has two entrances – from the western and the southern sides. Recently, the church has been restored by the Armenian society of historical monuments protection.