The monastery was founded in 1600 by the Tsar Boris Godunov and was built in 1660 on the territory of one of the oldest monasteries of Moscow, the Old St. Nicholas, known since the 14th century. The name Zaikonospassky comes from the fact that the monastery stood behind the icon row on Nikolskaya street.
In 1665 by the order of the Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich the monastery school was opened for teaching Latin, which was headed by Simeon of Polotsk. In the late 17th – early 19th centuries Zaikonospassky monastery was one of the centers of Russian education. In the 17th – 18th centuries it housed the Slavic-Greek-Latin Academy, which became the first institution of higher education in Russia. Among the students of the Academy was Mikhail Lomonosov. Later Zaikonospassky monastery housed the Moscow Theological Academy. Unfortunately, the building of the Academy has not survived. In the courtyard you will see the main attraction of Zaikonospassky monastery, the Spassky Cathedral (Cathedral of the Savior Not-Made-By-Hands). The Cathedral of the Savior Not-Made-By-Hands has survived so far. It was built in the middle of the courtyard of the monastery in 1660 by Prince Volkonski by order of the Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich. This is one of the best monuments of Moscow baroque of Peter the Great era.