Russia E-Visa for Foreign Nationals

From August 2023, foreign visitors can acquire an e-visa for Russia. This digital visa can be requested via the designated website of the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs or through a specific application. Applications should be finalized no fewer than 4 days prior to the intended arrival date in Russia.

Russia Electronic Visa - Key Features

This digital visa system facilitates a universal, single entry into Russia without necessitating invitations, hotel reservations, or other proofs of travel purposes.
Potential purposes for the e-visa include:

  • Guest or business visits,
  • Tourism,
  • Involvement in scientific, cultural, social, economic, and sports events, and,
  • Establishment of associated communications and contacts.

Upon securing the e-visa, visitors can stay in Russia for a maximum of 16 days within a 60-day window. Departure from Russia must be within 60 days from the e-visa's issue date.

Note: The e-visa is applicable for entry and exit via specific modes, including air, road, and water, or on foot. Only certain checkpoints allow this; a detailed list is available here.

Eligibility to apply for the e-visa extends to residents of 55 countries, which encompasses various European nations, as well as countries like Japan, Turkey, China, DPRK, India, Indonesia, Philippines, Bahrain, Iran, Kuwait, Malaysia, Saudi Arabia, and Singapore.

Russia Electronic Visa - Fees

The e-visa's total cost, comprising consular charges, banking fees, payment system transaction costs, and an initial document verification fee, amounts to roughly $52.

For applicants below 6 years, the visa cost, inclusive of payment system charges, is capped at $2.

Eligible Countries for Russia's Electronic Visa

The comprehensive list of nations whose inhabitants can procure an e-visa encompasses:
Here's the list in alphabetical order:


Andorra, Austria


Bahrain, Belgium, Bulgaria


Cambodia, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic


Denmark, Democratic People's Republic of Korea




Finland, France


Germany, Greece




Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Italy






Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg


Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Myanmar


Netherlands, Northern Macedonia, Norway




Philippines, Poland, Portugal




San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland


Taiwan (China), Turkey


Vatican City, Vietnam

Russia Electronic Visa - Application Process

1. Application: Utilize the dedicated website or mobile application of the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs to submit your e-visa application. Required elements include:

  • A valid passport you intend to use at the Russian border,
  • A digital image of your passport's information page in JPEG format,
  • A digital facial photo in JPEG, adhering to specifications provided by the Russian Ministry, and,
  • A bank card for consular fee payment.

2. Payment: Execute the payment via the Ministry's platform using major international payment systems (Visa, MasterCard, etc.). Refunds aren't available irrespective of application outcomes. E-visas for children under 6 years are fee-exempt.
3. Notification: Await an e-visa issuance alert via the website or email.

E-visa processing typically concludes within 4 calendar days post-application. The application's submission timestamp refers to when it's fully relayed for review. Diplomatic or consular divisions of the Russian Federation, designated by the Russian Ministry, manage e-visa evaluations and issuances.

In instances where inaccuracies are identified in the application, its review is halted. The applicant will be notified about the errors for correction within a maximum of 2 calendar days post-application submission. After correction, the application should be resubmitted for evaluation. The new submission timestamp will be when the rectified application is relayed for re-assessment.

4. Documentation: Ensure you produce a physical copy of the notification using a printer, and/or securely store a digital version on your mobile device.

5. Transport Verification: Present the notification to the representative of the transportation entity when prompted.

6. Border Checkpoint: Display the notification to the border control official upon reaching the designated crossing point.