Семь озер

Семь бриллиантов Фанских гор

На западе Таджикистана, неподалеку от города Пенджикент, располагается красивый природный комплекс Семь озер, который поражает всех насыщенным и постоянно меняющимся цветом воды. Он также известен под названием Хафткул, что переводится с таджикского точно так же – Семь озер. Иногда встречается топоним Маргузорские озера, который происходит от названия крупнейшего озера. Каждое озеро имеет свое название: самое нижнее и первое, с которого обычно начинается знакомство, Нежигон, затем Соя, Гушор, Нофин, Хурдак, крупнейшее Маргузор, и последнее Хазорчашма.

Семь озер расположены в Фанских горах, в ущелье реки Шинг. Самое нижнее находится на высоте 1640 метров над уровнем моря, а последнее на отметке 2400 метров. Общий перепад высот составляет 760 метров, а расстояние между крайними озерами более 14 км, однако не стоит волноваться – через все семь озер проходит грунтовая автодорога, и подъем по серпантинам, без учета остановок, займет не больше часа. Все озера, кроме последнего Хазорчашма, относятся к завальному типу озер, и появились из-за схода горной породы в узком ущелье. Древние петроглифы, обнаруженные на берегу одного из них, свидетельствуют о том, что озера довольно старые.

Семь озер, Таджикистан
Семь озер, Таджикистан
Семь озер, Таджикистан

Сегодня возле Семи озер находится несколько маленьких деревень, в которых можно найти гостевые дома для туристов. Они устроены очень просто и позволяют погрузиться в атмосферу местной жизни. В четырех озерах водится рыба, но довольно мелкая – рыбалка вряд ли принесет много удовольствия. И также, стоит знать, что озера питаются водой горных рек, а следовательно, становятся полноводными к середине июля. В зимние месяца, весной и даже в начале июня уровень воды низкий.

Нежигон

Первое озеро, которое видят путешественники. Его необычное название переводится с таджикского языка как «ресницы», хотя никакие признаки не намекают на происхождение такого имени. Также встречаются вариации названия – Нежегон, Нежигок, Мижгон. Высота озера – 1640 метров над уровнем моря, глубина до 20 метров, а площадь 0,05 кв.км.

Вода в Нежигоне выделяется палитрой цветов: в зависимости от освещения и времени года она может быть бирюзовой, синей и даже фиолетовой. Это объясняется сильной минерализацией воды натрием и кальцием. Летом вода довольно теплая, и можно окунуться в это завораживающее озеро.

Семь озер, Таджикистан
Семь озер, Таджикистан
Семь озер, Таджикистан

Соя

Поднявшись по крутому серпантину, и оглянувшись с высоты на Нежигон, путешественники окажутся прямо у берега второго озера – Соя. Данный топоним переводится с таджикского как «тень», и такое название объясняют тем, что озеро находится между высоких скал, и практически весь день его воды находятся в тени.

Вода в Сое похожа на воду в Нежигоне, она так же меняет свой цвет в зависимости от погоды и времени суток. Озеро находится на высоте 1701 метр над уровнем моря, а площадь водного зеркала составляет 0,1 кв.км.

Гушор

Третье по счету, озеро Гушор находится в 400 метрах от Сои и, поднимаясь к нему, можно увидеть соединяющий их бурный поток. Озеро Гушор находится на высоте 1771 метр над уровнем моря, а его площадь составляет 0,23 кв.км.

Встречаются созвучные названия этого озера – Хушёр, Изшор, и все они означают «бдительный». Оно окружено крутыми скалами, а также здесь когда-то водились ядовитые змеи, что и объясняет происхождение такого имени.

В советское время на берегу озера размещалась турбаза «Маргузорские озера», но однажды с гор сошел селевой поток, который смел ее, оставив лишь следы фундаментов. Всё это создает ареол опасности, однако озеро выглядит довольно спокойным и в ясную погоду можно наблюдать стаи рыбок, спокойно плавающих в прозрачной воде.

Нофин

Расстояние от озера Гушор до озера Нофин всего 400 метров, но подъем по серпантину составляет целый километр. Четвертое из семи озер отличается очень вытянутой формой, и его длина превышает 2,5 км, при том, что ширина в среднем 200 метров. Расположено на высоте 1820 метров над уровнем моря, площадь водного зеркала 0,48 кв.км.

Название озера Нофин переводится как «пуповинный», и его происхождение связывают с тем, что оно центральное из семи озер, а также очень длинное, похожее на пуповину. Местные жители рассказывают различные легенды и говорят, что у озера есть свои тайны. Дорога идет вдоль восточного берега и летом иногда ее затапливает, так что легковые автомобили проезжают с трудом. На дальнем конце озера расположена небольшая деревня, в которой есть гостевые дома.

Семь озер, Таджикистан
Семь озер, Таджикистан
Семь озер, Таджикистан

Хурдак

Это самое маленькое среди всех семи озер. Даже его название переводится как «малыш». Его площадь составляет всего 0,025 кв.км., и оно находится на высоте 1870 метров. Расстояние от озера Нофин составляет 1,5 км, и по пути можно будет увидеть деревню Падрут.

Когда-то на Хурдаке располагалась маленькая гидроэлектростанция, которая обеспечивала электричеством деревню и окружающие дома.

Маргузор

Крупнейшее и самое красивое озеро в системе Семи озер. Чтобы до него добраться, надо проехать более 2 км по серпантину и подняться на высоту 2140 метров. Его площадь 1,16 кв.км., длина достигает 2,7 км, максимальная глубина 45 метров. Широкий простор голубой воды и величественные горы на заднем плане создают великолепный пейзаж.

Семь озер, Таджикистан
Семь озер, Таджикистан
Семь озер, Таджикистан

Именно на берегу Маргузора были найдены петроглифы первобытных людей. В средние века неподалеку от озера велась добыча полудрагоценных камней. Сегодня на южной оконечности озера расположена маленькая деревушка, дома которой разбросаны по окрестным склонам. Местные жители могут рассказать легенды и сказки, в которых будет фигурировать озеро Маргузор.

Дорога через озеро идет по восточному берегу, местами практически на уровне воды. При разливах озеро затапливает дорогу и проехать можно только на грузовике или надежном джипе. Также, в южной части Маргузора начинается тропа, ведущая на перевал Тавасанг (3307 метров), с которого можно отправиться по одному из горных маршрутов по Фанским горам.

Семь озер, Таджикистан
Семь озер, Таджикистан
Семь озер, Таджикистан

Хазорчашма

Завершающее и самое высокогорное озеро в комплексе Семь озер. Оно располагается на отметке 2400 метров над уровнем моря. Также велико как Маргузор, но всё же несколько уступает в размерах: площадь водного зеркала составляет 0,92 кв.км., а максимальная длина 2 км. Название Хазорчашма или Азорчашма означает «тысяча родников» - оно действительно питается водами двух рек и множества ручьев.

Это последнее озеро в ущелье реки Шинг, и дальше нет никаких поселений, дорога заканчивается и дальше только дикая природа Фанских гор. Поэтому взглянуть на озеро можно лишь с северной стороны. Чтобы посмотреть с южной стороны, надо будет пойти в горный поход, в обход скальных берегов озера, но в награду туристы получат великолепный вид на Хазорчашму, за которым вдали можно будет заметить воды Маргузора.

Семь озер, Таджикистан
Семь озер, Таджикистан
Семь озер, Таджикистан

 

Как поехать на Семь озер

Единственный способ доехать до этой достопримечательности в Фанских горах – на автомобиле из Пенджикента. Первые 8 км по трассе в сторону Душанбе, а затем поворот направо в сторону гор, и 34 км по асфальту, который постепенно сменится на грунтовую дорогу. На посещение Семи озер лучше выделить полный день, так как несмотря на короткую дистанцию, у каждого озера захочется сделать остановку хотя бы на 10-20 минут, а где-то и на час.

Семь озер можно включить в программу путешествия, если она уже включает Пенджикент. А также, можно отправиться сюда из Самарканда – вся дорога составляет ровно 100 км в одну сторону, и единственная заминка будет в непродолжительном прохождении границы между Узбекистаном и Таджикистаном на КПП Джартепа-Саразм.

Seven Lakes

The Seven Diamonds of the Fan Mountains

In western Tajikistan, near the city of Penjikent, there is a beautiful group of mountain lakes which amaze visitors with their vibrant and constantly changing colours. These are called the “Seven Lakes”, Haftkul (which means “Seven Lakes” in Tajik), or sometimes the Marguzor Lakes (named after the largest lake in the group). Each lake has its own name: the lowest lake, which is the one travellers usually encounter first, is called Nezhigon. This is followed by Soya, Gushor, Nofin, Khurdak, Marguzor (the largest), and Hazorchashma (the highest).

The Seven Lakes are located in the Fan Mountains, in the gorge of the Shing River. Ancient petroglyphs discovered on the shores of one of the lakes indicate that the lakes are quite old. The lowest lake (Nezhigon) is at an elevation of 1,640 metres and the highest (Hazorchashma) is at 2,400 metres. The difference in elevation between the lowest and highest lakes is 760 metres, and the distance between them is more than 14 km. All lakes except Hazorchashma were formed when the river was dammed by rock falls in the narrow gorge.

The lakes are very accessible to tourists – a dirt, serpentine road passes by all seven lakes and driving between the first and last ones takes about an hour (not considering stops). However, the last part (between the sixth and seventh lakes) is more challenging to drive, and many visitors opt to hike this part (about 30 minutes one-way). It is also possible to hike along the road to all the lakes (usually done over about 2 days), and even beyond to other beautiful lakes, valleys, and villages. Today, near the lakes, are several small villages with guest houses for tourists (around Nofin Lake in particular). These guest houses are very simple and allow visitors to immerse themselves in the atmosphere of local life. Camping is also possible in many places.

Seven Lakes, Tajikistan
Seven Lakes, Tajikistan
Seven Lakes, Tajikistan

Four lakes contain fish, but these are very small and not really suitable for fishing. It is also worth noting that the lakes are fed by mountain rivers, and so become full only by mid-July. In winter, spring, and even early June, the water level is low.

Nezhigon

Usually the first lake that travellers see, the lowest lake – Nezhigon – is at an elevation of 1,640 metres. Its name comes from the Tajik word for eyelashes, although the reasoning behind this name is not clear. Other names for this lake include Nezhegon, Nezhigok, and Mizhgon. Nezhigon Lake is up to 20 metres deep, with an area of 0.05 square kilometres.

It is distinguished by its range of vibrant colours: depending on the lighting and season, the water can be turquoise, blue, or even purple. This is due to the water’s high mineral (sodium and calcium) content. In summer, the water is quite warm and visitors can plunge into this bewitching lake.

Seven Lakes, Tajikistan
Seven Lakes, Tajikistan
Seven Lakes, Tajikistan

Soya

Continuing from Nezhigon Lake up the steep serpentine road, you’ll cross a natural dam that separates Nezhigon Lake from the second lake, Soya (and offers a stunning view back down towards Nezhigon). Soya Lake is named after the Tajik word for “shadow” – as this lake is situated between high cliffs, it is in shade almost all day.

Like Nezhigon, the water in Soya Lake changes colour depending on the weather and time of day. The lake is located at an altitude of 1,701 metres and has an area of 0.1 square kilometres.

Gushor

The third lake, Gushor, is 400 metres from Soya and as you approach it you’ll see a turbulent stream connecting the two. Gushor Lake is located at an altitude of 1,771 metres and has an area of 0.23 square kilometres.

The lake has various other names, including Khusher and Ishore. All these names mean “watchful”. Gushor Lake is surrounded by steep cliffs and was once the home of poisonous snakes, which explains the origin of the lake’s name.

In Soviet times, the Marguzor Lakes camp site was located next to this lake. However, a mudflow from the mountains swept away the camp leaving only traces of its foundations. Although this may suggest some danger, the lake looks quite calm and in good weather you can watch schools of fish swimming quietly in the clear water.

Nofin

The distance between Gushor Lake and Nofin Lake is only 400 metres, but the route along the serpentine is a full kilometre. Nofin, the fourth of the seven lakes, is very elongated – it is more than 2.5 kilometres long but only about 200 metres wide. The lake’s elevation is 1,820 metres and its area is 0.48 square kilometres.

The lake’s name means “umbilical cord”, due to Nofin being the central one of seven lakes and very long, like an umbilical cord. Locals tell various legends and say that the lake has secrets. The road runs along the east coast and sometimes floods in summer, making it difficult for cars to pass. At the far end of the lake is a small village with guest houses.

Seven Lakes, Tajikistan
Seven Lakes, Tajikistan
Seven Lakes, Tajikistan

Khurdak

This lake, the name of which means “baby”, is the smallest of the Seven Lakes, having an area of only 0.025 square kilometres. It is located 1.5 kilometres from Lake Nofin, at an altitude of 1,870 metres. The distance from Nofin Lake to Khurdak Lake is 1.5 km, and along the way you can see the village of Padrut. There used to be a small hydroelectric power station at Khurdak Lake that provided electricity to Padrut and surrounding houses.

Marguzor

This is the largest and, to many people, the most beautiful of the Seven Lakes. To reach it, you need to continue for more than 2 kilometres along the serpentine road from Khurdak Lake and climb to a height of 2,140 metres. Marguzor Lake is 2.7 metres long, with an area of 1.16 square kilometres and a maximum depth of 45 metres. The expanse of blue water and the majestic mountains in the background create a magnificent landscape.

Seven Lakes, Tajikistan
Seven Lakes, Tajikistan
Seven Lakes, Tajikistan

Petroglyphs of primitive people have been found on the shore of Marguzor and, in the Middle Ages, semiprecious stones were mined near the lake. Today, at the southern end of the lake is a small village whose houses are scattered on the surrounding slopes. Locals tell legends and fairytales about Lake Marguzor.

The road passes the lake along its eastern shore, sometimes almost at the same level as the water. Sometimes, the lake floods the road and can only be reached by a truck or a robust jeep. Near the south of the lake is the starting point of a trail that leads to the Tavasang Pass (3,307 metres), from which you can take one of the hiking trails along the Fan Mountains.

Seven Lakes, Tajikistan
Seven Lakes, Tajikistan
Seven Lakes, Tajikistan

Hazorchashma

The seventh and highest of the Seven Lakes is located at around 2,400 metres above sea level. One of the largest lakes, but slightly smaller than Marguzor, Hazorchashma Lake has a maximum length of 2 kilometres and an area of 0.92 square kilometres. The name Hazorchashma (or Azorchashma) means “thousand springs” – the lake is fed by the waters of two rivers and many streams and springs.

Hazorchashma is the last lake in the gorge of the Shing River. The road ends here and beyond this there are no further settlements and you find only the wildlife of the Fan Mountains. Therefore, you can view the lake only from its northern side unless you hike along its rocky shores. However, if you do manage to reach Hazorchashma’s south side, you’ll get a magnificent view of the lake and, behind it in the distance, Marguzor Lake.

Seven Lakes, Tajikistan
Seven Lakes, Tajikistan
Seven Lakes, Tajikistan

 

How to get to the Seven Lakes

The only way to reach this highlight of the Fan Mountains is by car from Penjikent. Start by driving 8 kilometres along the highway towards Dushanbe, before turning right towards the mountains. Then drive 34 kilometres on a road that starts as asphalt but gradually changes to a dirt. If you already plan to visit Penjikent, it’s easy to add on a visit to the Seven Lakes. You can also easily reach the lakes from Samarkand (via Penjikent). The distance is only 100 kilometres one way, and the only minor obstacle will be the short border crossing between Uzbekistan and Tajikistan at the Jartepa-Sarazm checkpoint.

It’s best to set aside at least a full day to visit the Seven Lakes from Penjikent or Samarkand. Although the distance is short, you’ll likely want to stop at each lake for at least 10-20 minutes, and up to an hour in some places. If you have more time available, staying overnight and/or hiking will give you a unique opportunity to observe local village life and get a different perspective on these stunning mountain lakes.