Крепость Надир-шаха, Ашхабад

Крепость Надир-Шаха - твердыня завоеваний прошлого

Крепость Надир-шаха, окрестности АшхабадаВ 100 км восточнее Ашхабада расположен г. Абиверд (район Кахка), где находится средневековая крепость, построенная по приказу иранского правителя из династии Афшаридов – Надир-шаха. Архитектурный памятник находится недалеко от города в селении Хиваабат.

Туркмения в XVIII веке была поделена между среднеазиатскими ханствами и Иранской империей. Юг страны входил в состав Ирана. Именно здесь родился и вырос будущий великий иранский шах-полководец. Надир-шах Афшар вошел в историю Востока благодаря своим многочисленным завоевательным походам, которые привели к созданию огромной империи, куда кроме Ирана входили в качестве вассальных территорий Армения, Азербайджан, часть Грузии, Белуджистан, Хивинское и Бухарское ханства, а в 1739 году Надир-шах захватил столицу империи Великих Моголов – Дели. Он правил с 1736 по 1747 гг. За этот период он не только захватил множество территорий, но и построил множество крепостей, благоустроил города. Одной из таких крепостей стала крепость Надир-шаха на территории Туркмении.

Надир-гала или крепость Надира имеет квадратную форму. По преданиям кочевых туркмен песок и глина для строительства крепости были привезены из захваченной шахом Хивы, как напоминание о времени, которое Надир провёл в хивинском плену.

Крепость имела стратегическое назначение. Это была пограничная крепость с военным гарнизоном, основной целью которой был контроль над мятежными туркменскими племенами. После подавления Астрабадского восстания туркмен, Надир-шах решил обезопасить границы этих территории, построив военную крепость.

Длина каждой крепостной стены составляла 1000 м, толщина стен равнялась 2-3 метрам, а высота достигала 3-х метров. Помимо военных и хозяйственных построек внутри крепости находился шахский дворец, который не сохранился до наших дней. Вход в крепость находился на севере, а по периметру каждой крепостной стены были расположены по 12 сторожевых башен. Вокруг крепости был вырыт глубокий ров, который в настоящее время засыпан песками.

Nadir Shah Fortress, Ashgabat Vicinity

Fortress of Nadir Shah - the last stronghold of conquests

Nadir Shakh fortress, Ashgabat vicinity100 km to the east from Ashgabat there is Abiverd city (Kakhka district), with a medieval fortress built by the order of Nadir-Shah, the Iranian ruler from the Afsharid dynasty. The architectural monument is located not far from Khivaabat village.

In the XVIII century Turkmenistan was divided between Central Asian khanates and the Iranian Empire. The southern part of the country belonged to Iran. It was the place where the future Great Iranian shah-commander was born and brought up. Nadir-Shah Afshar made history of the East owing to his numerous campaigns of conquest resulted in formation of the large empire which, along with Iran, consisted of Armenia, Azerbaijan and part of Georgia, Belujistan, Khiva and Bukhara khanates as feudatory territories, and in 1739 Nadir Shah seized Delhi, the capital of the Great Mogul Empire. He was ruling the empire for the period from 1736 till 1747. During this period he not only occupied many other territories but also built many fortresses and developed cities. One of such fortresses was the Nadir-Shah Fortress in the territory of Turkmenistan.

The Nadir-Gala or the Nadir Fortress is of square form. According to the legends of nomadic Turkmen, the sand and clay were imported from Khiva, occupied by the shah, as a reminder of the time when Nadir spent in Khiva incaptivity.

The fortress had a strategic function. It was a frontier fortress with a military garrison, whose main purpose was to control rebellious Turkmen tribes. Upon suppression of the Astrabad revolt of the Turkmen, Nadir-Shah decided to protect this territory’s boundaries by means of building of a military fortress there.

The length of each vallum amounted to 1,000 m, the walls thickness equals to 2-3 m, and the height came to 3m. Inside the fortress, along with the military and household buildings there was shah’s palace which did not survive up to date. The entry to the fortress was found in the north and each of its vallum features 12 watch towers, located along the perimeter. Around the fortress there was a deep moat which now is filled with sand.