Окрестности Дашогуза - Измукшир

Крепость Измукшир - руины под песками древности

Недалеко от города Дашогуза, в 25 км к юго-западу, в пустыне, находятся руины древнего города-крепости Измукшир (Замакшар), занесённые под песками. Развалины крепости находятся на территории историко-культурного музея-заповедника Куня-Ургенч – древней столицы государства Хорезмшахов.

От огромной некогда крепости остались лишь части крепостных стен и некоторые постройки, но даже в разрушенном состоянии она поражает своей монументальностью и красотой. Длина сохранившейся до наших дней стены составляет 1500 метров. Перед входом в крепость находится глубокий ров, который туркмены называют «Гала Кендеги». Ров имел серповидную форму, поэтому в глубину он достигает от 1 до 16 м, а в ширину от 2 до 15 м.

Первые постройки на территории крепости предположительно датируются IIIв. до н.э.-III в. н.э. Своего расцвета крепость достигла в IX-XII вв. в так называемую эпоху восточного Ренессанса. Замакшар благоустраивался и расширялся при Газневидах, Сельджукидах Караханидах и своего полного расцвета крепость достигла во время правления династии Хорезмшахов. Во время монгольского нашествия, как и многие города и крепости Хорезма, Измукшир был захвачен и почти полностью разрушен.

Крепость Измукшир известна не только своей богатой историей, но и известной личностью, которая здесь родилась. Абу аль-Касим Махмуд ибн Умар аз-Замахшари родился 8 марта 1075 года в крепости Замакшар. В юности он проходил обучение в медресе Бухары и Самарканда, затем долгое время жил в Мекке, где получил прозвище «Джаралла» досл. «приближенный к Богу». Он был учёным, богословом, филологом и поэтом, которого почитали на Востоке. Фактически всю свою жизнь он провёл вдалеке от родного дома, куда он вернулся лишь в старости. Замахшари умер в 1144 году на своей Родине в крепости Замакшар (Измукшир).

Пустыня не пощадила крепость Измукшир. Большая её часть безвозвратно разрушена и засыпана песками, но осталось несколько построек, которые дают представление о грандиозности этого сооружения. Особенностью всех сохранившихся зданий являются стрельчатые ниши, расположенные в стенах. Эти ниши использовались как место хранения посуды и хозяйственной утвари.

История Измукшира насчитывает более 2 тыс. лет. Это одна из самых монументальных хорезмских крепостей, которая за период своего долгого существования входила в состав великих государств Центральной Азии и пережила не одну династию восточных правителей.

Izmukshir, Dashoguz

Izmukshir Fortress - under the sands of ancient ruins

Not far from Dashoguz city, 25 km to the south-west, in a desert there are ruins of ancient fortress city Izmukshir (Zamakshar), surfaced with sands. The fortress ruins are located in the territory of the historical and cultural reserve museum Kunya-Urgench, the ancient capital of Khorezmshah's State.

There preserved only vallum fragments and some buildings from the whole fortress once being huge, but even destroyed it strikes with its monumentality and beauty. The length of the vallum that survived up to date amounts to 1,500 m. Right in front of the fortress’s entry, there is a deep town ditch, called as “Gala Kendegi” by the Turkmen. The town ditch was of crescent shape, therefore its depth varied from 1 to 16 m, and width – from 2 to 15 m.

The first structures are supposed to date from the III century BC to III century AD. The fortress reached its zenith of development in the IX-XII centuries in so-called the Oriental Renaissance epoch. Zamakshar was developing and expanding under the Gaznevids, Seljukids, Karakhanids, and reached the zenith of its power during regiment of the Khorezmshakh dynasty. During the Mongolian invasion, Izmukshir like other Khorezmian cities and fortresses was seized and almost completely destroyed.

The Izmukshir Fortress is famous not only for its rich history, but also for an outstanding figure born there. Abu al-Kasim Mahmud ibn Umar az-Zamakhshari was born on 8 March 1075 in the Zamakshar Fortress. When he was young, he served apprenticeship in madrasahs of Bukhara and Samarkand, after that he lived for a long period in Mecca where he received the nick name “Jaralla”, literally translated as “Servitor to God”. He was a scholar, theologian, philosopher and poet, esteemed in the East. Actually he spent all his life away from home, where he only came back when he was old. Zamakhshari died in 1144 in his motherland in the Zamakshar Fortress (Izmukshir).

The desert did not spare the Izmukshir Fortress. Its major part was destroyed beyond retrieve and covered up with sand, but still several buildings managed to survive, giving us an idea about the grandiosity of this structure. The peculiarity of all the extant buildings is arched niches located in the walls. These niches were used as a place to keep dishware and household utensils. Izmukshir history reckons more than 2,000 years. This is one of the Khorezm’s most monumental fortresses which during its long existence was a part of the great states of Central Asia and outlived more than one dynasty of eastern rulers.