History - Independent Armenia

Armenian historyOn August 23rd, 1990 during the 1st session of the Supreme Council of Armenia the declaration on “Independence of Armenia” was adopted. The Armenian Soviet Socialist Republic was abolished and independent Republic of Armenia was proclaimed.

On September 21st , 1991 over 99 % of the participants of the referendum voted for separation from the USSR.

On September 23rd the Supreme Council proclaimed Armenia independent state. In October, 1991 Levon Ter-Petrosian was elected the President of independent Armenia. The same year Armenia joined the Commonwealth of Independent States. In 1992 Armenia joined the United Nations. Since 2001 Armenia has been the full member of the Council of Europe.

In 2002 Armenia became a member-state of the World Trade Organization (WTO).