Cathedral of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God, Tolyatti
Cathedral of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God in Tolyatti, Russia is the successor church of Trinity Cathedral, which was founded in conjunction with the establishment of the city in 1738.
The original church served parishioners until 1953, when the city (then called Stavropol-on-the-Volga) was intentionally flooded to create the Kuybyshev Reservoir. When the city was relocated and renamed Tolyatti in 1964, many proposed that Trinity Church be dismantled so as not to interfere with the passage of river vessels. When the church proved too sturdy to simply disassemble, it was decided to use explosives to complete the task.
Only a few church utensils, icons and various items used in the worship services were salvaged from the demolition. In 1985, a new church was built and all of the valuables from the historic cathedral were placed inside. Large-scale renovations were carried out in ensuing years, with 5 domes added in 1996 and an impressive bell tower constructed in 2019. A soup kitchen and parish Sunday school have also operated out of the church in recent times.
Today, Cathedral of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God in Stavropol, Russia is the main city parish and one of the brightest sights of the city.