Museum of Applied Art of Uzbekistan, Tashkent
Address: 15, str. Rakatboshi, Yakkasaray district, Tashkent
Phone: (+998 71) 256-40-42, 256-39-43
Working hours: from 09:00 a.m. to 06:00 p.m. (w/o lunch, cash-desk closes at 05:00 p.m.)
Web site: www.artmuseum.uz
History of Museum of Applied Art of Uzbekistan dates back to 1927, when the first exhibition of artworks by artists of Uzbekistan was held here.
Initially, the museum was called the Museum of Handicrafts, and in 1997 it was granted the state status and acquired its present name.
The Museum of Applied Art fund lists over 7,000 samples of applied arts: handmade embroidery, skull-caps (tyubeteyka), jewelry, carpets and other examples of craftsmanship of the beginning of the 19th century to present day.
All the exhibits of Museum of Applied Art of Uzbekistan can be divided into three groups:
- Works of applied arts based on ancient traditions and relating to schools;
- Works created since the second half of the 19th century with due consideration of traditional craftsmen’s methods;
- Works of modern art, decorated with colorful ornaments on the basis of the modern arts development.
The Museum of Applied Art of Uzbekistan also has two gift shops, where you can buy a painting, graphics, porcelain, carpets, embroidery, fabrics, jewelry, coinage, varnished miniature by modern Uzbek masters.