Легенды о происхождении племени Бугу

Киргизское племя Бугу - племя Матери-Оленихи

Легенда о происхождении кыргызского племени БугуКиргизское племя Бугу («бугу» в переводе означает «олень») считает своей прародительницей «мать-олениху». Существует легенда, повествующая о том, что в те времена, когда вся земля была покрыта лесами, на берегу Енисея жило древнее племя киргизов. Люди соседнего племени постоянно угоняли их скот, разрушали дома. Случались войны между племенами, унесшие многие человеческие жизни.

Однажды вещая птица человеческим голосом предупредила киргизов о предстоящем бедствии. Но люди не обратили внимания на ее пророчество. Вскоре погиб их вождь Кулчу. Во время похоронной церемонии поднялся большой шум: заклятые враги племени вновь атаковали стоянку. Застигнутые врасплох, жители не смогли оказать достойного сопротивления и их всех перебили.

В это время двое детей племени - маленькие мальчик и девочка - были в лесу. Вернувшись домой, они нашли своих родителей убитыми. Все их родственники и знакомые были мертвы, дома разрушены, а река, протекавшая рядом, была красной от крови. Они видели, как их враги уходили и слышали, как они хвастались своими победами. Дети затаились, пока те не ушли, а затем отправились на поиски пищи и помощи.

Они долго бродили по лесам, пока, наконец, голодные и испуганные, не услышали у подножия горы человеческие голоса. Это были их враги, которые праздновали победу. Измученные голодом, дети стали просить еду. Одна старая женщина, сжалившись над ними, дала сиротам вареного мяса. О детях доложили хану, отдыхавшему на белом войлочном ковре с пиалой кумыса. Тот пришел в ярость, что кто-то из киргизов выжил, и приказал женщине, пожалевшей детей, убить их, чтобы ни один киргиз не остался в живых.

Она повела детей к скале, возвышающейся над рекой Енисей, чтобы сбросить их вниз. Вдруг женщина увидела большую олениху-марала с большими черными глазами и тяжелым от молока выменем. Олениха поведала ей, что охотники убили ее детёнышей, и она хочет забрать человеческих детей.

Дети последовали за оленихой, и она увезла их далеко-далеко через горы к озеру Иссык-Куль, где их и вырастила. Так олениха стала матерью сирот. Дети выросли и поженились. У них родилось двое сыновей - Тынымсейита и Алесейита. И назвали своё новое племя - Бугу - племя Матери-Оленихи.

Прошло время, Тынымсейит переехал вместе со своей семьей в Нарынскую область, а Алесейит остался у озера Иссык-Куль.

Через некоторое время миру и согласию между людьми племени Бугу и оленями пришел конец. В Иссык-Кульской области люди стали убивать оленей, используя их рога для украшения могил, поэтому олени ушли далеко в горы.

Эту легенду рассказывают по-разному, но, пожалуй, лучше всего она описана в романе Чингиза Айтматова "Белый пароход".

Legends of Kyrgyzstan: Bugu Tribe

The legend about the origin of the kyrgyz tribe BuguThe Bugu tribe in Kyrgyzstan consider their first ancestor to have been Mother Deer, which gave them the name of their tribe (bugu means deer in Kyrgyz). The legend of their creation starts on the banks of the Yenisei River in Siberia, where a tribe of the Kyrgyz lived. They constantly fought with neighboring tribes, wars where cattle were stolen, houses were razed, and many people were killed.

One day, a beautiful bird with a human voice warned them that a disaster was about to happen, but the people paid no attention. Suddenly, their leader, Kulchoo, died, and they prepared to bury him. In the middle of the ceremony, there was a loud noise, and the tribe realized they were surrounded by their bloodthirsty enemies. They could do nothing as they were killed, one by one, until no one was left alive.

It so happened, however, that a boy and a girl from the Kyrgyz tribe had been sent earlier to collect mushrooms, so they escaped the slaughter. On their return, they found their parents dead, their friends dead, their relatives dead, and all their homes destroyed. They waited until they were sure that their enemies had left, and then began to search for food and help.

Eventually, hungry and afraid, they saw a camp at the base of a mountain. They rushed towards it, realizing only too late that it was the camp of their enemies. An old woman took pity on them and gave them some boiled meat, but others recognized the boy and the girl as Kyrgyz, and rushed them off to the khan, who was sitting on his white felt carpet drinking kumis. He burst into a rage, furious that any of the Kyrgyz had survived, and ordered the old woman to kill the two children, so that not one Kyrgyz survived.

The old woman took the children to a cliff overlooking the Yenisei River and prepared to throw them off it. She prayed to the river to accept the children and take pity on them, as there was nowhere left on earth for them, and asked the children to forgive her.

Then the old woman heard a voice, and turned to see a maral, a majestic female deer with udders heavy with milk. She explained to the old woman that hunters had killed her own children, and that she wanted to nurse the two human children. The old woman was astonished. “You don’t know mankind,” she said. “They have no respect for animals, or for each other. All you are doing is inviting pain and suffering. Why would you want to do that?” The Mother Deer replied that she would take the children away; she had plenty of milk and would be able to feed them and care for them. The old woman relented, and gave the children to the deer.

The children followed the deer as she took them far away, over the mountains, to Lake Issyk-Kul, where she nursed them and raised them. There, they married and had two sons, Tynymsejit and Alesejit. They called their new tribe Bugu - the tribe of the Mother Deer. Tynymsejit moved with his family to Naryn, but Alesejit remained at Lake Issyk-Kul.

It was some time later that the harmony between the tribe and the deer was to come to an end. Some people in the Issyk-Kul region killed the deer and used their antlers as decoration for graves, so the deer left and went deep into the mountains.

This legend is told in various forms, and perhaps the most famous version is in Chingiz Aitmatov’s story “The White Ship”.