Мемориальный музей Н.М. Пржевальского

Николай Пржевальский - великий ученый - путешественник

Мемориальный музей Николая ПржевальскогоНиколай Михайлович Пржевальский - один из первых русских ученых-географов, который начал детально изучать географию, флору и фауну стран Центральной Азии. Начиная с 1870 года, он совершил 4 крупные экспедиции в Монголию, Китай, Тибет.

Во время своих экспедиций он установил точные направления горных хребтов и границы Тибетских гор. Он описал природу, рельеф, климат, растительный и животный мир изученных им территорий, открыл более 200 видов растений. Также Пржевальский собрал огромную зоологическую коллекцию, в которую вошли несколько тысяч видов растений, животных, птиц, рыб и насекомых.

За свои выдающиеся достижения и вклад в изучение Центральной Азии, Пржевальский был избран действительным членом Русского географического общества, а также членом Российской академии наук. В 1888 году он умер от брюшного тифа накануне своей пятой экспедиции в Центральную Азию, и был похоронен на берегу озера Иссык-Куль, недалеко от города Каракол.

Памятник Николаю ПржевальскомуМемориальный музей Николая Михайловича Пржевальского был открыт в Караколе 29 апреля 1957 года. С первых же дней одним из главных занятий его сотрудников стала собирательская работа по формированию музейного фонда. Особенно интенсивно проходил сбор материалов о жизни и деятельности Н. М. Пржевальского.

За первые три года фонд музея уже насчитывал 386 экспонатов. Начало формированию фонда положено Краеведческим музеем г. Пржевальска, передавшим в 1957 году 8 трудов Н. М. Пржевальского, изданных в период с 1883 по 1947 год, 30 фотокопий и фотографий. Материал поступал также из архива Географического общества СССР.

Сегодня здесь хранятся личные вещи, документы, фотографии и записи Пржевальского. Недалеко от музея находится могила путешественника и памятник.

Przhewalsky Memorial Museum

Nikolay Przewalsky - famous schientist and traveller

The Memorial Museum of Nikolay PrzhewalskyNikolay Mikhailovich Przhevalsky is one of the first Russian Scientist-Geographer who started studying in details the geography, flora and fauna of the Central Asian countries. Beginning from 1870, he arranged 4 large expeditions to Mongolia, China and the Tibet.

During his expeditions he revealed the exact directions of the mountain ranges and borders of the Tibet Mountains. He described the nature, relief, climate, flora and fauna in the territories under his study and discovered over 200 plant species. Przhevalsky also collected an enormous zoological collection which comprised several thousand of species of plant, animals, birds, fishes and insects.

For the outstanding achievements and contribution to the exploration of Central Asia Przhevalsky was elected Active Member of the Russian Geographic Society and also a Member of the Russian Academy of Science. In the year of 1888, he died from typhoid fever on the eve of his fifth expedition to Central Asia; he was buried on the Issyk-Kul lakeside not far from the city of Karakol.

The monument to Nikolay PrzewalskyThe Memorial Museum of N. M. Przhevalsky was opened on 29 April 1957 in Karakol. From the first days of its existence the main task of its staff was the collection of materials form the Museum Fund. The work on collection of materials on N.M. Przhevalsky’s life and activity was especially intensive.

For the first three years, the Museum Fund comprised already 386 exhibits. It was the local historical Museum named after N. M. Przhevalsky, which in 1957, initiated the Fund formation and handed over 8 works of N. M. Przhevalsky published in the period from 1883 to 1947, as well as 30 photocopies and photos. The materials also were received from the Geographic Society of the USSR.

To day there are personal things, documents photos and articles of Przhevalsky kept there. Not far from the Museum there is the traveler’s tomb and monument.