Памятные даты Азербайджана: День всенародной скорби

День памяти жертв тоталитарного режима в Азербайджане

Всенародная скорбь по жертвам "Черного января"

Каждый год 20 января в Азербайджане проходят официальные мероприятия, посвященные жертвам трагических событий 20 января 1990 года, которые вошли в историю страны как «Черный январь». В этот день в столице Азербайджана Баку в результате вмешательства советских войск погибли несколько сотен мирных жителей.

Событиям 20 января предшествовали многочисленные волнения в Баку и других городах страны, вызванные событиями в Карабахе. Многие жители города вышли на мирные митинги. Советское правительство, напуганное ростом недовольства среди местного населения, а также всплеском политической активности, на специальном заседании Президиума Верховного Совета СССР от 19 января 1990 года приняли решение о вводе войск в страну и введении чрезвычайного положения.

20 января 1990 года в 00:20 часов 20 тысячный контингент советских войск вторгся в Баку. Протестуя против такого нарушения Конституции страны, сотни мирных жителей вышли на митинг, в результате чего, погибло около 170 человек, и больше 400 было ранено. В память о погибших 22 января 1990 года почти полтора миллиона жителей Баку под дулами пушек прошли по центральным улицам города.

В память о героически погибших азербайджанцах в Нагорном парке была создана Аллея шехидов, где похоронены жертвы 20 января, а этот день объявлен в Азербайджане Днем памяти жертв тоталитарного режима. Каждый год тысячи жителей столицы приходят в этот день, чтобы почтить память жертв тех событий и возложить цветы на мемориал их памяти.

Memorial Dates in Azerbaijan: Martyrs' Day

Martyrs’ Day in Azerbaijan

Nationwide Sorrow for the victims of the "Black January"

On 20 January, every year Azerbaijan holds formal occasions dedicated to the victims of the events which took place on 20 January 1990 and went down in country’s history as “Black January”. That day as a result of the interference of the Soviet troops several hundreds of civilians were perished in the Azerbaijani capital Baku.

The 20 January events were preceded by numerous unrests occurred in Baku as well as in other cities of the country, and provoked by the events which had taken place in Karabakh. Many city-folk held a peaceful meeting. The Soviet government, scared by a growing discontent among the local community as well as a burst of political activity, convened an extraordinary meeting of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR and took decision dated 19 January 1990, to bring the troops to the country and impose an emergency rule.

On 20 January 1990 at 00:20am, a 20,000 contingent of the Soviet forces intruded into Baku. Protesting against such infringement of the country’s Constitution, hundreds of civilians joined a meeting, with the result that almost 170 of them were killed and over 400 were injured. On 22 January 1990, in commemoration of the perished, almost 1.5 millions of Baku residents proceeded at gunpoint along the central streets of the city.

The memory оf the heroically perished Azrbaijanis was commemorated with the Shekhid Alley laid out in Nagorny Park were victims of the 20 January were buried, while this day was declared Martyrs’ Day in Azerbaijan. Every year thousands of metropolitans come this day to venerate the memory of the victims of those events and lay flowers to their memorials.