Лошади, Кыргызстан

Лошади, Кыргызстан

Кочевую жизнь среди степей и гор невозможно представить без лошадей. Лошади были компаньонами людей, средством передвижения, верными помощниками во время войны, оплатой за услуги. Кобылье молоко используется в кыргызской кухне, мясо и кожа лошадей тоже являлись важными продуктами. Туристы могут легко найти кыргызские сувениры, связанные с лошадьми, такие как хлысты или старинные седла.

Кыргызские лошади – это небольшие выносливые животные, хорошо справляющиеся с суровыми условиями климата и местности. На протяжении всей истории Центральная Азия славилась лошадьми, за ними приезжали трейдеры из других стран, например, из России и Китая. Лошади Пржевальского, так же известные как последние оставшиеся в мире абсолютно дикие лошади, были ввезены отсюда в Монголию и Китай.

Во время войны лошади были невероятно важны: считалось, что непобедимая армия Чингисхана была настолько успешной не в последнюю очередь благодаря лошадям. Даже после смерти воин и его лошадь были неделимы, их хоронили вместе. Лошади также использовались как плата за невесту во время сватовства, а кража коня каралась смертью.

Лошади в Кыргызстане
Лошади в Кыргызстане
Лошади в Кыргызстане

Некоторые дети умели ездить верхом прежде, чем делали первые самостоятельные шаги; наездники и лошади не жалели сил во время долгих изнурительных тренировок. «Конь – крылья молодца» и «Если плеткой погонять будешь коня, то пеший останешься наверняка» - пословицы, расхожие среди кыргызов, лишний раз демонстрируют, насколько важными животными являлись в этой культуре лошади.

После всего прочитанного выше туристы могут быть удивлены тому факту, что в Кыргызстане едят конину или тому, насколько жестокими кажутся непривыкшему зрителю конные игры. Однако стоит помнить, что как и раньше, лошади в Кыргызстане высоко ценятся и почитаются, за ними хорошо ухаживают, а их влияние на культуру кыргызов остается неизмеримо огромным.

Horses, Kyrgyzstan

Horses in Kyrgyzstan

Horses are essential to the nomadic lifestyle, and life in the mountains and on the steppes would be impossible without them. Horses were used for everything from transportation to war, from payment to companionship. Mare’s milk is an part of Kyrgyz cuisine, and meat and leather can also be important products. Tourists can easily find Kyrgyz souvenirs related to horses, such as intricate horse whips or antique saddles.

Kyrgyz horses tend to small, hardy animals that do well in the harsh terrain and extreme weather. Central Asia has been famous for its horses throughout history, with raiders and traders coming from Russia and China specifically to get horses. Przewalski’s horses, the last remaining completely wild horses in the world, have been reintroduced to Mongolia and western China, though these horses are not related to domestic horses.

Horses have always been essential to warfare, and are even are credited as the main reason Genghis Khan was such a successful warrior. Some men were buried with their warhorses, as being separated even in death was unthinkable. Horses play roles in courtship and marriage ceremonies, where horses would be included in the bride price for a girl’s hand in marriage. Stealing a horse could be punished by death.

Horses, Kyrgyzstan
Horses, Kyrgyzstan
Horses, Kyrgyzstan

Horsemanship was equally valued among the Kyrgyz. Children learned to ride sometimes even before they could walk, and lots of time was spent developing both horse and rider. There are even unique proverbs in Kyrgyz, like “a horse is a man’s wings”, and “govern your horse carefully, or you will become a pedestrian”.

Visitors may be surprised to see violent horse games, or to learn that Kyrgyz people eat horse meat. Though the relationship may seem tougher on the horses than in other places, the most important thing to know is that horses are deeply respected in Kyrgyzstan, and caring for them is of the utmost importance. There may be a difference in how horses are cared for around the world, but it would be wrong to assume that horses in Kyrgyzstan are not cared for.