Озеро Балхаш, Казахстан

Балхаш - феномен природы

Озеро Балхаш на закате, КазахстанНа территории Казахстана расположено одно из крупнейших внутриконтинентальных бессточных водоемов Земли – озеро Балхаш. Длина озера составляет 614 км, а ширина – от 3,5 до 44 км, при этом максимальная глубина водоема до 26 метров. Геологи и геоморфологи установили, что озеро существует более 35000 лет.

Уникальность этого озера заключается в том, что западная и восточная части озера резко отличаются по степени минерализации ее вод, так ее западный бассейн - пресный, а восточный – солоноватый. Не перестает удивлять ученых и сам феномен местонахождения Балхаша в пустынной местности, без стока, с сухим континентальным климатом и очень малым выпадением осадков.

Флора и фауна Балхаша на удивление разнообразна. В озере водится около 20 видов рыб! Не зря древние казахи называли озеро - "Балык ас" (рыба-пища). Также имеется 120 видов птиц, из которых 12 занесены в Красную книгу. Растительный мир насчитывает до 60 видов растений, которые произрастают на суше и в воде. В Прибалхашье очень много растений и животных, которыми интересуются ботаники и зоологи из-за их редкости и уникальности.

Горная цепь Бектау-ата, окаймляющая территорию озера, является одним из красивейших мест Северного Прибалхашья. В ясную погоду видимость живописного пейзажа с величественными скалами и ущельями простирается на сотню километров.

Несмотря на то, что туристическая инфраструктура озера практически не развита, озеро Балхаш все еще остается популярнейшим местом для пляжного отдыха, в основном среди казахстанцев и россиян, приезжающих «дикарями».

Однако судьба этого уникального озера плачевна из-за иррационального использования воды озера двумя республиками - Казахстаном и Китаем. Балхаш мелеет, и вполне вероятно его ждет та же участь что постигла в свое время Арал.

Lake Balkhash, Kazakhstan

Balkhash - natural phenomenon

Balkhash lake at sunset, KazakhstanOn Kazakhstan territory there is one of the world’s largest inland drainless water bodies - Lake Balkhash. The lake is 614 km long; its width varies from 3.5 to 44 km, while its maximum depth comes to 26 meters. The geologists and geomorphologists found that its age is over 35,000 years.

The lake is really unique - its western and eastern parts are very different in degree of mineralization, in western basin, the waters are fresh, while in eastern one - salty. The phenomenon of the lake location in the desert, without runoffs, in a dry continental climate and with very little rainfall still amazes the scientists.

The flora and fauna of Lake Balkhash are surprisingly diverse. The lake harbors almost 20 species of fishes! No wonder, that the ancient Kazakhs called the lake – “Balik As” (fish-food). It can also boast 120 species of birds, 12 of which are listed in the Red Book as endangered. The flora consists of up to 60 species of plants that grow on land and in water. The Balkhash territory has a lot of plants and animals, which are of particular interest to botanists and zoologists because of their rare and unique character.

The Bektau -Ata mountain range, bordering the lake territory, is one of the most beautiful places in the North Balkhash. In clear weather, the visibility of the picturesque landscape with majestic cliffs and canyons ranges for hundreds of kilometers.

Though the tourism infrastructure here is practically underdeveloped, Lake Balkhash is still a popular place for a beach-related holiday, mainly among Kazakhs and Russians holiday makers.

However, because of the irrational use of water of the lake by two republics - Kazakhstan and China. The Balkhash is getting shallow, the odds are that it will have a horrid fate that came to the Aral Sea in due time.