Сhurch of the Deposition of the Robe

source: ivejournal.com

The Сhurch of the Deposition of the Robe is located on the western side of the Dormition Cathedral. It was built by Pskov masters in 1484-85 on the site of the burned down metropolitans’ home church. The new church has inherited the name Сhurch of the Deposition of the Robe from the old one. The history of this name is as follows: on the night of July 2, 1451 the Tatars approached Moscow, but suddenly retreated, leaving behind all the loot. In fact, the enemy camp split, but the church gave the fact purely religious explanation as it coincided with the church holiday called the Deposition of the Robe. To commemorate the event the church, built in 1451, was called after it. In 1473 it burned down along with the court of the Metropolitan. The place was used the new brick church surrounded on three sides by an open porch. In the 17th century the church was rebuilt. The porch’s western side was vaulted. The resulting gallery, which still exists, was used by women of the royal family to pass from the palace to the Dormition Cathedral. The distinctive architecture of the Сhurch of the Deposition of the Robe is conditioned by fusion of early Moscow and Pskov architecture. In spite of the small size the temple is notable for a number of original decorative techniques and forms. All the murals in the cathedral were made in 1644. The iconostasis and wall paintings form the unified ensemble. The church's gallery houses the permanent exhibition of Russian wooden sculptures.