The Komendantskaya Tower is small and austere. Its construction was completed in 1495. Earlier the Komendantskaya Tower was called Kolymazhnaya - after Kolymazhny courtyard in the Kremlin, where the tsar's carriages were kept. It received the present name in the 19th century: the Commandant of Moscow used to live next to it in the Amusement Palace. Like all the Kremlin towers, the Komendantskaya Tower was built up in 1676-1686.