Kutafya Tower is the only surviving bridgehead fortification of the Kremlin. It was built in 1516 by the architect Aleviz Fryazin. The low powerful tower was surrounded by water from all sides. The only entrance was across the bridge leading to the Troitskaya Tower. The only gate of the Kutafya Tower was firmly shut in case of danger.
The Kutafya Tower consisted of two defense levels; on the top level there were the loopholes. In 1685 it was decorated with the filigree top.