The Petrovskaya tower got its name after the church of the Metropolitan Peter, which stood in the vicinity of the tower. In terms of its architecture the Petrovskaya Tower is very different from the neighboring towers. Its top is decorated with the pyramidal hipped roof. In the corners of the upper part of the tower there are cornices and semi-columns. The Petrovskaya Tower was destroyed during the Polish intervention in 1612, but later was restored. In 1771 it was demolished in connection with the construction of the Kremlin palace, but soon restored in 1783. In 1812, the Petrovskaya tower was blown up by the retreating French troops. It was rebuilt anew by the architect Osip Bove in 1818, and since then has not been changed.