The Terem Palace was built on the site of ancient palaces of Vasily III and Ivan IV in 1635-1636 as royal dwelling houses. The architects added three new levels to the remaining part of the 16th century palace. The tier arrangement of towers, the white stone facades with carved window frames, portal tiles, cornices and parapets reflect the traditions of Russian wooden architecture. The structure of the Terem Palace includes a group of churches. In 1680-1681 they were united by a common cornice and a copper roof topped with 11 delicate domes on thin drums covered with multicolored tiles. The copper roof of the cathedral has survived from the 18th century.