Гостеприимство

Гостеприимство

Гостеприимство - одна из характерных черт народа Узбекистана. Умение принять гостя ценится у узбеков выше богатства самого стола или достатка семьи. Не принять гостя - значит опозорить семью, род, махаллю, селение.

Уважаемых гостей хозяева встречают у ворот, здороваются. Здороваются за руку, как правило, только с мужчинами. Во время рукопожатия взаимно интересуются здоровьем и состоянием дел. Женщин принято приветствовать легким поклоном, прижав правую руку к сердцу.

Затем гостей приглашают в дом, сажают на самое почетное место за стол - дастархан. По старинному обычаю мужчины и женщины должны сидеть за разными столами, но в полной мере он сохранился только на селе. Глава семьи сам усаживает гостей, причем для самых уважаемых людей отводятся места вдали от входа.

Любая трапеза начинается и заканчивается чаепитием. Вначале на стол подают сладости, выпечку, сухофрукты и орешки, фрукты и овощи, затем идут закуски, и лишь в конце - обязательный плов или другое праздничное блюдо.

Чай гостям разливает хозяин дома. Традиционным элементом гостеприимства здесь является малое количество наливаемого чая - чем почетнее гость, тем меньше в его чашке напитка. Этот обычай объясняется так: чем больше гость будет обращаться к хозяину за добавкой, тем лучше. Это признак уважения к дому. Если на дне пиалы все-таки остался чай, хозяйка выплескивает его и наполняет чашу заново.

Hospitality

Uzbek hospitality

Hospitality is one of Uzbekistan features. Hospitality in Uzbek families is appreciated higher than the wealth of a table and prosperity of the family. Not to receive a guest means to disgrace the family, kin and makhalla.

Hosts welcome esteemed guests at the gate. As a rule, men shake hands to each other and show their interest in each-other's health, business and other things. It is appropriate to greet women with slight bow, attaching right hand over the heart.

Then guests are invited inside and to the most honorable seats at the table, or dastarkhan in Uzbek. By the ancient custom men and women should seat at the separate tables, but this custom is preserved in whole only in suburbs. The head of the family himself seats guests round the table, and the most honored guests are seated away from the entrance.

Any meal begins and ends with tea drinking. At the beginning the table is served with sweets, baked goods, dried fruits, nuts, fruits and vegetables, then it is served with snacks and at the end – with pilaf or other festal dish.

The host of the house pours the tea. The traditional element of hospitality is the peculiar small amount of tea to be poured: the more honored guest, the less amount of tea is in his cup. This custom is explained in such way: the more guest asks the host for more, the better. It is the sign of respect to the house. If tea is remained in the bottom of the piala, the host pours it out and again fills piala with tea.