Ущелье Кегеты, Кыргызстан

Водопад Кегети
Фото Вячеслава Кошелев

Некоторые называют Кегеты самым красивым ущельем в Кыргызстане. Оно находится примерно в 90 км от Бишкека, на северной стороне кыргызского хребта. На дне ущелья расположены одноименные река и долина, чьи склоны славятся своими лугами и альпийскими лесами. Здесь растут не только ягоды, такие как клубника, костяника и ежевика, но и редкие уникальные лекарственные травы. 

Также ущелье Кегеты известно 20-метровым водопадом, к которому довольно легко дойти, благодаря чему его регулярно посещают туристы. Кроме того, ущелье Кегеты популярно среди тех, кому нравятся конные прогулки.

Рядом находятся другие известные места, в том числе ущелье Кел-Тор с небольшим «мертвым морем» и башней Бурана - одним из самых известных археологических памятников в Кыргызстане. Путешественники также могут отправиться к летнему пастбищу (джайлоо) Бел-Саз.

В Кегеты живут десятки различных млекопитающих, а также птицы, в том числе соколы, беркуты и кречеты.

Kegeti, Kyrgyzstan

Kegety waterfall
Photo by Slava Koshelev
Kegeti is considered by some to be the most beautiful gorge in Kyrgyzstan. It’s about 90 km (55 miles) from Bishkek, on the northern side of the Kyrgyz Range. The bottom of the gorge holds a valley and a river of the same name, and the slopes are famous for their meadows and alpine woods. There are not only berries, such as strawberries, stone brambles, and blackberries, but also rare and unique medicinal herbs.

Kegeti is also famous for its waterfall, dropping 20 m (65 feet) into the gorge. The waterfall is easy to reach, which means that both places are frequently visited by tourists. It is also an excellent place for horseback riding, another reason why tourists frequent Kegeti.

Nearby are other famous sites, including Kel-Tor Gorge, with a small “dead sea” and Burana Tower, one of Kyrgyzstan’s most famous archeological sites. Visitors can also travel to Bel-Saz, which is a summer pasture, or jailoo.

Dozens of various mammals live in Kegeti, as well as birds, like falcons, golden eagles, and gyrfalcons.