Didgori Winemaking, Грузия

Didgori Winemaking, Грузия Didgori Winemaking

 

Мне не нравятся старые вина. Вино нужно пить молодым.
~ Георгий Кипиани, винодел Didgori Winemaking

Семейная винодельня Didgori Winemaking (Дидгори), где главный винодел и вдохновитель – Георгий Кипиани, выделяется из остальных виноделен производством вина из винограда Кабистони. Винодельня расположена в легендарной деревне Хванчкара плодородного региона Рача-Лечхуми. Вы не пожалеете о своём визите в винодельню Дидгори, потому что вас встретит радушная семья Кипиани и поведает вам о своих традициях виноделия, обязательно угостив натуральным вином.

История винодельни

Своё имя винодельня взяла у ансамбля народной песни «Дидгори», участником которого многие года является Георгий Кипиани. В 2004 году на заре своих винных успехов Георгию здорово помогли его друзья из певческого коллектива. Дать винодельне имя ансамбля Георгий решил не задумываясь. Это его благодарность друзьям за неоценимую поддержку в начале пути. Ансамбль изображен на фирменной этикетке Didgori Winemaking.

Семья Георгия бережно хранит фамильные традиции виноделия. Прадед Георгия принадлежал знатной семье Кипиани, в которой производили натуральное полусладкое вино из винограда сортов Александроули и Муджуретули. Высоко оценённое вино вскоре стало известно под именем «Кипиановское» и в 1907 году было отмечено наградой «Гран-при» в Остенде (Бельгия).

Став советской республикой, Грузия сменила милость на гнев по отношению к знати, потерявшей свои прежние привилегии и значение в обществе. «Кипиановское» вино было переименовано в «Хванчкару» по имени самой большой деревни производства. В 2000-х Хванчкара официально была внесена в список аппеласьонов* Грузии. Дед Георгия Гела Кипиани 20 лет служил на посту директора винзавода «Хванчкара». Он обучил секретам виноделия своего сына Бежана (отца Георгия). А теперь и Георгий, ступив на винодельческую стезю при поддержке отца, продолжает славить именитую фамилию своими винами.

*Апелласьон - зона, за которой исторически и законодательно закреплено наименование, которым наделяются происходящие из этой зоны вина.

Didgori Winemaking, Грузия
Didgori Winemaking, Грузия
Didgori Winemaking, Грузия

Виноградники и винный погреб

Виноградники Didgori Winemaking простираются на полгектара в деревне Хванчкара и в Амбролаури. Георгий следует принципам натурального виноделия и в уходе за виноградниками избегает использования пестицидов, гербицидов. Брожение начинается и проходит естественным образом без добавления искусственных дрожжевых культур. В общей сложности вино проводит на виноградной мезге полгода. «Для вина нет ничего лучше, чем мезга (выжимки винограда)! Находясь в контакте с вином в квеври, она действует как естественный фильтр. После 6 месяцев выдержки на мезге, выжимки опускаются на дно квеври, и вино готово для розлива и дальнейшего созревания в бутылках без дополнительной фильтрации», – говорит Георгий.

Для ферментации и последующего созревания вина здесь используют традиционные грузинские винные сосуды квеври. Самый старый квеври Didgori Winemaking сделан аж в 1805 году! Квеври Георгия родом из деревни Саирме соседского региона Лечхуми. Здешняя глина известна особым минеральным составом. Когда Георгий обнаружил исторические квеври, сохранившиеся на протяжении более 200 лет, стало понятно, что лучшей проверки качества сосудов, чем время, не найти.

Didgori Winemaking, Грузия
Didgori Winemaking, Грузия
Didgori Winemaking, Грузия

Вино

Didgori Winemaking производят следующие натуральные вина из эндемических сортов винограда:

  • Белое (сухое и полусладкое): Цоликаури и Цулукидзес Тетра (также известное под именем Рачули Тетра)
  • Розе: Цоликаури-Мужуретули
  • Красное (сухое и полусладкое): Кабистони, Сакипиано (Кипиановское) из сортов Александроули и Муджуретули

Хотя Георгий и имеет право называть своё вино "Хванчкара", так как его виноград растёт в одноимённой микрозоне, он предпочитает использовать историческое и уже малоизвестное "Сакипиано", отдавая тем самым дань семейным традициям виноделия.

Вино Кабистони особенно редкое в Грузии. Это деликатное грузинское красное вино придётся по вкусу тем, кому Саперави кажется слишком терпким и насыщенным танинами. Георгий производит вино Кабистони с 2015 года, однако объём пока довольно низок (менее 100 бутылок в год). Георгию также не чужды эксперименты: в 2020 году в Didgori Winemaking произвели своё первое игристое вино из винограда Цоликаури.

Спрос на натуральное грузинское вино растёт с каждым годом. Вина старинной винодельческой семьи уходят на экспорт в США, Канаду, Японию и страны ЕС.

Didgori Winemaking, Грузия
Didgori Winemaking, Грузия
Didgori Winemaking, Грузия

Визит

В гостях у Георгия Кипиани вам обязательно расскажут обо всех тонкостях производства натурального грузинского вина в окружении фантастических рачинских пейзажей. Георгий и его отец замечательные повара и радушные хозяева: обед в семье — это настоящее путешествие в мир грузинской кулинарии и виноделия. Традиционные рачинские блюда шкмерули (курица в чесночном соусе), лобио (фасоль в горшочке) и чашушули (мясо тушёное в томатах) удачно сочетаются с винами семьи Кипиани. Встать из-за стола будет непросто.

Didgori Winemaking, Georgia

Didgori Winemaking, Georgia Didgori Winemaking

 

I do not like old wines. Wine should be drunk young.
~ Giorgi Kipiani, winemaker at Didgori Winemaking

Didgori Winemaking, a family winery run by the young and talented Giorgi Kipiani, stands apart from other wineries in the country of Georgia. Located in Khvanchkara village in the country’s far north Racha-Lechkhumi Region, the winery is known for its cultivation of the rare and local Kabistoni grape. Fantastic stories of family winemaking traditions abound, and anyone with an interest in viticulture and Georgian natural wine is sure to enjoy a visit to the Kipiani family at Didgori Winemaking.

History of the Winery

The name “Didgori” was inspired by a Georgian polyphonic singing ensemble of the same name. When Giorgi was starting his wine enterprise in 2014, his friends from Didgori Ensemble provided Giorgi with valuable support, and as a gesture of thanks, Giorgi decided to name the winery after them. Members of the polyphonic group are even depicted on the wine label.

The Giorgi family has inherited a rich tradition of winemaking. Giorgi’s great-grandfather belonged to the famous Georgian nobility family Kipiani which produced naturally semi-sweet wine from Aleksandrouli and Mujuretuli grapes. The high-praised wine soon became known as “Kipiani’s wine” and was even acclaimed at the 1907 Grand Prix in Ostend, Belgium.

When Georgia entered the Socialist era in 1921, the nobility lost their privileged position in society. The Soviets renamed the wine “Khvanchkara” after the largest village in which the wine was produced, and Khvanchkara was officially recognized as a Protected Designation of Origin (PDO) for naturally red semi-sweet wine. Giorgi’s grandfather Gela Kipiani worked for 20 years as director of a famous Khvanchkara wine factory. His son Bejan (Giorgi’s father) developed his winemkaing skills by shadowing his father and even learned how to make wine at home. The next generation of winemakers in the Kipiani family is represented by Giorgi, who continues to be supported by his knowledgeable father.

Didgori Winemaking, Georgia
Didgori Winemaking, Georgia
Didgori Winemaking, Georgia

Vineyard and Wine Cellar

Giorgi grows grapes in a vineyard in Khvanchkara and Ambrolauri which spans half a hectare, or just over one acre. As a Georgian natural wine producer, he avoids using pesticides or herbicides when growing the grapes, relies on natural yeasts only and practices little to no intervention at the stages of wine fermentation and maturation. The wine is matured on full skin contact for 6 months, for as Giorgi says: "Musk is a miracle for wine! While in contact with wine in qvevri (wine vessels), it acts as a natural filter. After 6 months of full skin contact, the wine is ready to be bottled with no additional filtration".

Eleven lemon-shaped qvevri clay vessels are used to ferment and age the wine.

The qvevri vessels at Didgori Winemaking are made from mineral-rich clay in Sairme village in the nearby region of Lechkhumi. The oldest of Giorgi’s qvevri date back to 1805! When he first discovered the historic qvevri, which had survived for more than 200 years, Giorgi decided to trust the quality of the vessels and began using them to make his own wine. So far, this decision has proved a wise one.

Didgori Winemaking, Georgia
Didgori Winemaking, Georgia
Didgori Winemaking, Georgia

Wine

Didgori Winemaking produces the following natural wines from endemic grape varieties:

  • White (dry and semi-sweet): Tsolikauri and Tsulukidzes Tetra (also known as Rachuli Tetra)
  • Rose: Tsolikauri-Mujuretuli
  • Red (both dry and semi-dry): Kabistoni and Sakipiano from Aleksandrouli and Mujuretuli grapes

Kabistoni wine in particular is a rare find in Georgia. This delicate red dry is a great substitute for those who consider Saperavi to be too strong and tannin-filled and to whom Tavkveri is too light. Giorgi has produced Kabistoni since 2015, but production is limited to less than 100 bottles per year. Giorgi also loves to experiment, and in 2020 he produced his first sparkling wine.

Demand for Georgian natural wine is on the rise in the West, and Didgori Winemaking helps to meet this demand by exporting its wine to the USA, Canada, Japan and the EU.

Didgori Winemaking, Georgia
Didgori Winemaking, Georgia
Didgori Winemaking, Georgia

Visit

On a visit to Didgori Winemaking, guests can learn the intricacies of Georgian winemaking firsthand while surrounded by natural beauty. Giorgi and his father are skillful cooks and wonderful hosts, and a lunch with this family is a true delight. Traditional Racha dishes like shkmeruli chicken, lobio beans and chashushuli stewed veal pair perfectly with the natural wines produced by the Kipiani family.