Владимирский собор

Владимирский собор - шедевр храмовой архитектуры екатерининской эпохи

      источник: kmp.ru

Шедевром храмовой архитектуры екатерининской эпохи является Владимирский собор. Cобор во имя святого равноапостольного князя Владимира построен на месте бывшей деревянной церкви Успения Пресвятой Богородицы в 1708 году. Проект собора утвердила сама императрица Екатерина II.
И в 1789г. храм был закончен и освящен в память святого равноапостольного Князя Владимира в честь 800-летия крещения Руси. Здание собора являет собой образец строгой классической архитектуры: желтые фасады украшены белыми карнизами, колоннами, портиками. Согласно древнерусской традиции, храм имеет пятикупольное строение. Основное здание украшают высокие круглые башенки с серебристыми куполами. Сбоку к зданию пристроена высокая многоярусная колокольня. Храм известен богатством внутренних росписей и витражей.
В алтаре Успенского придела размещены три образа: святого князя Владимира, образа Николая Чудотворного и преподобного Серафима Саровского, иконы Иверской и Тихвинской Божией Матери. В соборе хранится икона Казанской Божией Матери, образ Успения Божией Матери - копия с иконы - святыни Лавры.

Vladimirskaya Church

Vladimirskaya Church, masterpiece of temple architecture of Empress Catherine epoch

  источник: : kmp.ru

Vladimirskaya Church is considered the masterpiece of temple architecture of Empress Catherine epoch. The church named after Vladimir the Equal-to-Apostles was built on the site of the former wooden church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary in 1708. The project was approved by Empress Catherine II personally.
In 1789 the temple was finished and consecrated in the memory of Duke Vladimir in commemoration of the 800th anniversary of Christianity adoption. The building of the church is an example of strict classical architecture: yellow facades are decorated with white cornices, columns, and porticos. According to ancient Russian tradition, the church has a 5-domed structure. The main building is decorated with high round towers with silver domes. The tall multi-tier belfry is added to the side of the church. The temple is known for its rich interior paintings and stained glass.
The are three icons in the side Assumption altar depicting St. Duke Vladimir, St. Nicholas the Miracle Maker and St. Seraphim of Sarov; there are also Theotokos of Tikhvin and Panagia Portaitissa Icons of the Mother of God. The church is also for known for its Mother of God of Kazan icon, the image of the Dormition of the Mother of God - a copy of the actual icon - the treasure of Lavra.