The church is easy to recognize by its low dome. It is a monument of architecture of the 19th century. In 1927 the church was closed; since 1936 there has been the Alexander Blok Library. From 1839 the church house was occupied by the «Local Notes» magazine where literary critic and journalist V.G. Belinsky started his career in St. Petersburg.