Reviews of Small Group Uzbekistan Tour 20188 Days | Khiva, Bukhara, Samarkand, Tashkent

Tour Reviews

Author: Julianna Keyes   |   Rating: 506 November 2017
The tour was a dream come true. Everything was amazing. I loved the small group, the local guides, the flexibility in the schedule, etc. This was the best group travel experience, I`ve ever had.

Visited October 2017
Author: NK   |   Rating: 531 October 2017
I took a leap of faith by booking my Uzbekistan trip with Advantour and it ended up being a wonderful decision. My travel consultant, Kate, was a pleasure to work with. She responded to all my many inquiries in a timely manner, provided detailed information about the trip and even gave us a small souvenir when our tour group met her in Tashkent.

Even though the tour guides are freelancers, the leaders were great. Batir and Mirza both had a strong command of English and provided us with a wealth of information about Uzbekistan. And Mirza certainly entertained us with his jokes! Meanwhile, the drivers were equally great - whether navigating us through a sandstorm, avoiding potholes on the road, keeping the tour bus clean and always meeting us on time.

Regarding Uzbekistan, you have to be a bit adventurous given the public squat toilets and occasional Soviet era accommodations, but the country`s rich history along the Silk Road and authenticity (no McDonald`s or Starbucks yet) outweigh the inconveniences. Seeing the Registan in Samarkand was certainly wonderful, but there is so much more to explore in the country. Highlights of the trip included the Itchan Kala in Khiva (a UNESCO World Heritage site), the Samanid Mausoleum in Bukhara and the Islamic Complex in Samarkand. Uzbeks are also quite friendly and curious to meet foreigners. Thus, don`t be surprised if they ask to take photos with you.

Finally, while other tour groups were entirely composed of retirees, I was extremely pleased the Advantour group I traveled with represented a broad range of ages and nationalities. As a result, not only did I experience Uzbekistan, but I also learned from my fellow travelers as well.

Thank you for such a wonderful, insightful and reasonably priced vacation.
For those of you considering Uzbekistan - go! And let Advantour help you with the planning.

Visited October 2017
Author: Tova and Zvi Tauber   |   Rating: 522 October 2017
Thank you very much for organizing a magnificent tour for us.
Starting with the group: we were 7 people representing 4 continents, the span of ages was 33 to 76, and with all these differences, we got along very good and had a great time together.
The program was also very good, we managed to cover in a relatively short time the most important attraction in Uzbekistan.
The hotels were OK, some very good, some could be better.
Last but not least our guide Mirza, a wonderful person, a lot of knowledge, very good English. He did his job in a very interesting way and was not a burden on us, he took us to nice local restaurants, shops and we had a very good time with him.

Visited October 2017
Author: Kaye Allen   |   Rating: 523 July 2017
We have just returned from a 9 day tour of Uzbekistan. Firstly, we cannot speak highly enough of Advantours their attention to detail (fruit and water waiting for us every hotel room) very professional and efficient guides drivers and of course our tour organiser Kate. This country and it`s people have a lot to offer ..my advice is to hurry up and go there before it changes too much.

Visited July 2017
Author: Jordi Buckley   |   Rating: 504 July 2017
Very well organized + efficient; provides a comprehensive and in depth overview of both major and minor landmarks, bazaars, as well as multiple other fascinating pockets Uzbekistan has to offer.

Visited June 2017
Author: Graeme Buckley   |   Rating: 504 July 2017
Very good in all services. Couldn`t ask for more or better service.

Visited June 2017
Author: Muhammad Yahya   |   Rating: 508 June 2017
Excellent tour. Very enjoyable. Good value for money. Professional and friendly staff. Very helpful. Gulnara is an excellent guide, exceptional in her profession. Monuments of the tour were excellent. Vadim is also excellent guide in Tashkent - the cleverest, informative and friendly.

Visited May 2017
Author: John Carey   |   Rating: 525 May 2017
I was very pleased with the whole tour. All arrangements were smooth. All the hotels were nice and I particularly like the K.Komil in Bukhara and Malika Kheivak in Khiva. The guide was excellent. Gulnara was able to deal very well with the needs of the group and balance the programme so everyone benefitted. She is very knowledgeable.

Visited May 2017
Author: Chris Myschowoda   |   Rating: 524 May 2017
I liked the itinerary - we saw a lot but also had free time+so on. The route seemed efficient. Enjoyed dance/fashion show in Bukhara. But food /dinner there was poor - just salad+dumplings. The other restaurants were generally ok - except Platan, served mainly foreign foods. Also every place served mainly plov/kebabs - I wish we could have tried places specializing in other/specific local dishes (main dishes, not just soup, dumplings or samosas).

Visited May 2017
Author: Linda & Gordon Harrower   |   Rating: 510 May 2017
As first time tour participants we enjoyed the experience very much. This was due to the wonderful way in which Advantour (specifically Kate and Zohid) worked in such a professional and efficient way., always with a smile. We were so impressed with the attention to our details and found the pace of the tour just right. Being experienced independent travelers, this has opened our eyes to travelling in a different way. Our tour leader Zohid was excellent at everything. Nice person. Knowledgeable. Professional.

Visited May 2017
Author: Kynie and Chris Evison   |   Rating: 520 October 2016
Wonderful! Appreciated the complimentary fruit and water in the hotels as well as transfers to and from the airoport.

Visited August 2016
Author: Anne   |   Rating: 520 October 2016
My own impression is that your country has a lot to offer, it is beautiful to travel with such good organization, I learned a lot!
As for me, it would have been nice to have 2-3 days of relaxation in between; only city tour is a bit exhausting.
Overall rating of guides is good. Akbar, in Tashkent, gave us an insight of his political opinion and enough information about the sights. Feruza in Samarkand knows a lot, good guide. In Bukhara, Barshorat started the tour with a lot of shopping recommendations and handicrafts. Shahodat in Shakhrisabz carried out a short tour, some information, she started with some local artists (who sell art).
Sergei, the guide in Termez, was excellent. He gave us a lot of information. The best tour.

Visited May 2016
Author: Marion Oke   |   Rating: 514 October 2016
The tour was very well-organized: excellent information, thoughtful itinerary, guides and drivers are very considerate, especially with my partner who had health difficulties (injured knee and stomach problems).

Visited September 2016
Author: Deborah Weis   |   Rating: 515 September 2016
Very friendly and professional staff. Everything worked as announced in the program; very well-organised. The choice of hotels was amazing (besides maybe of Tashkent) and the quality in general of the tour was very good, especially at that price (about 800 dollars).
The choices of places where we ate were great. A big thank to Kate, Zakhid and our drivers.

Visited August 2016
Author: Razia/Abbas   |   Rating: 422 July 2016
Uzbekistan is a must visit destination. People are very kind and helpful and the country has a nice culture and an interesting history. The tour was well-organised. Each place we could see was of pleasure. Hotels were good but need upgrading.
The tour leader Zokhid is very cooperative and well-knowledgeable about the history of each place.

Visited May 2016
Author: Wynoma de Faria   |   Rating: 516 July 2016
Very well-organized except disappointment with the hotel in Khiva. It was too modern and flashy.

Visited May 2016
Author: Samuel Joseph/Pooja Seth   |   Rating: 516 July 2016
Well-balanced between own time (free) and tour time.
The guide Zokhid was very knowledgeable.

Visited May 2016
Author: Preeti&Mavinken Sharats   |   Rating: 516 July 2016
Met all our expectations! The guides were very knowledgeable, helpful and gave us a very good local feel.

Visited July 2016
Author: Beth Losiewicz   |   Rating: 529 June 2016
It was awesome.
Jolol is the best guide I have ever had. Superlative.
The driver was excellent.
P.S. one member of our group was very obnoxious. Whatever he was offered, he wanted something different. He verbally attacked every member of the group at least once. He continuously made us all wait for him while his wife shopped. Then he complained that we didn`t keep the schedule. Our guide was infallibly kind and considerate even to this man.

Visited June 2016
Author: Susan   |   Rating: 525 June 2016
We were travelling independently as two couples (Australian and British). Mayra did a great job of making all the arrangements for us and Lemara of following through. They were both prompt in replying to emails, courteous and helpful.
Local guide Mirzabek in Tashkent was very knowledgeable and spoke fluent English. The tour was interesting and varied, we enjoyed it a lot.

Visited April 2016

Post a comment