Small Group Caucasus Tour 2019

Reviews of Central Asia Group Tour 2019-202014 Days | Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Tajikistan

Tour Reviews

Author: Eka M.   |   Rating: 514 December 2018
Date of experience: 6 November, 2018

Advantour is an amazing company. If you are looking to travel to Uzbekistan and its neighboring countries, I highly recommend you to travel with them. I spent 2 weeks borders crossing the 5 Stans and this is definitely my most rewarding journey ever, so far!

I would like to thank Mr. Davron who made this trip a reality. Everything went very smoothly, from the conception of the trip till day one started.

We were 6 people of different citizenships and we were led by an amazing Tour Leader, Mr. Zokhid. He is a very smart person, not only he is textbook smart, but he is also very very streetwise. Crossing borders and custom checks felt really seamless with him. He speaks in a very crisp and clear voice. He is very patient and understanding. I learned a lot from you, Mr. Zokhid.

The itinerary was also systematically placed to make sure that we were all engaged. I felt like a kid (or a student) again because everything was so interesting and new. My favorite place is Khiva (contrary to popular choice, which is Bukhara). My best experience in Khiva was probably climbing the minaret to take bird view pictures of the walled city.

The hotels that Advantour provided for the whole trip were amazing. Some are very modern, some are homey and authentic. Breakfast was always scrumptious and the rooms were always clean and tidy.

Foods were also great, Advantour managed to cater us, 6 people from different backgrounds beautifully. Everyday I craved for more of what to eat next.

Transportations were amazing and comfortable, smooth sailing till the end. I felt safe and steady everyday.

To summarize it all, I can`t think of other company to choose other than Advantour. Surely, I had made comparisons with other companies on the internet, but, from the itineraries, prices, and facilities, Advantour thrived in every category. You know you are in a good hand if you travel with them.
Author: Rebecca C.   |   Rating: 514 December 2018
Date of experience: 20 August, 2017

Overall it was a wonderful trip; I really enjoyed it and the itinerary was fantastic - a great opportunity to see many interesting places. I looked at many options to try to visit as many of the 5 stans as possible within the 2 weeks I was able to take off work, and Advantour offered the most affordable option.

The main improvement I would recommend is to devote less time to guided tours/lectures and more free to allow us to wander around and explore an area on our own.
Author: Ojas P.   |   Rating: 414 December 2018
Date of experience: 21 August, 2018

The Central Asia Group tour with Advantour was quite interesting and we saw some historical places such as Samarkand and Bukhara.

The sightseeings which were included were good and the local guide at each place and the overall guide were helpful and knowledgeable. The drivers at each place were skillful. We had interesting fellow travellers and overall the experience was good.
Author: Luis S.   |   Rating: 514 December 2018
Date of experience: 31 July, 2018

For our first organized group tour, it was a very good experience. We would like to express our deepest gratitude to our tour leader, Zokhid Toshnazarov, who went above and beyond to make our trip as pleasant and interesting as possible. We would like to thank him for his efficiency, his great sense of humor, his patience, and his kind heart. He has done right by us and took care of us in every possible way, and he really made us fall in love with Uzbekistan.

We also appreciated most of the hotels chosen by the agency.

As to the sightseeing, we really appreciated the guide in Almaty (we believe his name was Sayahmedov)

We would like to also thank Sevara for her efficiency before the trip, and the detail with which everything was organized beforehand.
Author: Kristin H.   |   Rating: 514 December 2018
Date of experience: 31 July, 2018

*This was a really great tour! It was extremely busy, but gave us a taste of the 5 Stans. Transportation was good - no issues. I liked that we had a couple train journeys.
*Accommodations were really good!
*Zahid, our guide, was organized, knowledgeable, patient, good-humoured and professional. Local guides were decent.
*Included activities were enjoyable, especially the home visits (meals and out making!). I think telling people to go out and explore Bishkek at night would be helpful, it was so cool and worth staying up a bit later.
*The crater was amazing and was definitely a highlight. I enjoyed that we stayed in tents and 4X4`d it to the crater!
*As for border crossings - no issues. Anyone complaining about this has unreasonable expectations. The Turkmenistan crossing took a long time, but that`s part of the adventure. There`s nothing you could do to change or speed this up, and it will only improve as more people visit the country.
*And everything you helped with was greatly appreciated and helped to make this trip easy and enjoyable.

Thanks!
Author: Aniel D.   |   Rating: 514 December 2018
Date of experience: 31 July, 2018

The trip was lovely, so many things to see and do.

I especially liked the hotels, and the locations of the hotels. I appreciate the special touch of Advantour leaving us a fruit platter and some water everytime we checked in. That made a difference in some occasions, when we arrived tired and it was so hot outside.

Our guide Zahid was always very professional and helpful.
Author: Jaime B.   |   Rating: 514 December 2018
Date of experience: 22 May, 2018

I had an awesome trip. Many thanks to Advantour!

- Everything was organised very well and we didn`t have to do much thinking ourselves about logistics, which was great
- Mirza was an incredible guide. Warm, friendly, very knowledgeable, always went beyond the call of duty to make sure we were comfortable, and organised lots of additional sight-seeing and meals. We were very lucky to have him.
- accommodation was all very comfortable and well-located.

Thanks again, I will be sure to recommend the tour to my friends :)
Author: Bruce G.   |   Rating: 514 December 2018
Date of experience: 01 May, 2018

I had a thoroughly enjoyable tour. The guide Bakhrom was excellent and very tolerant.
The travel logistics went without a hitch which I appreciate.
Darwaza gas crater was a fascinating location.
In summary, I had a “wow” of a time and will definitely recommend the tour and your services.
Author: Molly Sch.   |   Rating: 514 December 2018
Date of experience: 01 May, 2018

We had a simply splendid time on this tour, which ran like clockwork, as far as we were concerned. We are left with happy memories of the sights and sites we saw and a clear impression, to share with others, of all 5 “stans” we visited.
Hotels: These were all of a high standard and well placed for exploring the locality. Breakfasts were generally fine, with plenty of choice.
Guides: Our Tour Guide, Bakhrom, was a mine of information, stories, facts and anecdotes as well as common sense tips on local customs and conditions. Throughout he maintained a high professional standard with infinite patience and kindness, as well as a fun sense of humour.
He was always willing to go that extra step to ensure our comfort…..one example being how we, as a group, managed the train journey from Samarkand to Tashkent in style and with ease, with only hand luggage. Real luxury!!
The local guides we met on the way were generally pleasant and informative. A delightful experience.
Transport/Drivers: These were unfailingly good-natured and competent and the bus/cars generally comfortable for the whole group. Again, there were occasions when the drivers even transported us to group meals in the evening, with infinite patience.
Gas crater: This was definitely one of the highlights of the tour and really should be in the itinerary
The actual camping was well set up and the “flushing” facilities a complete surprise!

We would be happy to recommend Advantour to others.
Finally before we forget, a “thank you” too for the gifts we received on our travels.
Author: Timothy S.   |   Rating: 514 December 2018
Date of experience: 01 May, 2018

I enjoyed the tour, and I think it has improved a bit over the last time I took it in 2010. Now there is a high speed train to eliminate some of the driving days and the airport experience is much improved. The hotel quality was good for the price.
I think everyone in our group really enjoyed the contact with local peoples, for lunch, dinner and the yurt building.
Author: Mark Ch.   |   Rating: 514 December 2018
Date of experience: 10 April, 2018

We had a wonderful time on the tour.
All the guides were knowledgeable and good communicators. Jamshid and Gulnara were constant companions, working long hours to ensure we were fed, housed, informed and constantly engaged.
Thank you for organising the tour. It was professionally handled from the first pickup at the airport to the drop off at the end.
Author: Mark H.   |   Rating: 528 October 2017
I thought the tour was excellent.

We have been on many guided tours in Europe, Turkey and America; and Jalol was the best guide we have ever had. His English was excellent as was his knowledge about things we were looking at etc. He always made sure we were well looked after and his choice of restaurants was also always excellent. His excellent sense of humour was also a major reason why we enjoyed the trip so much.
Author: Elida B.   |   Rating: 525 October 2017
My comments are positive and no doubt Jelal - our guide was an important part of the good result of the trip. He really commits to his job, works very hard, is available all the time, etc so, congratulations to have him on board! As a suggestion, I would suggest to include in the price a telephone chip with some money in to have internet. Or to offer the tourists the possibility of buying it. Simply because usually there is no time to go out to buy one, and you do not know where to go.
We know the internet is usually pretty bad in Central Asia and this (at least in Uzbekistan) will help in this time in which many people needs to be connected with his home base. In most of the hotels where we stayed internet was available just in the lobby, and only when there was not many people around.
The trip was well planned, and I thank you for your efficient job all along. I understand this is a complicated trip because it is multi-country, and that means a lot of people hired out of base. I am happy with the tour.
Author: Oscar Rodriguez   |   Rating: 521 October 2016
Very good experience professional guides, good hotels. Only a half day in Issyk-Kul is needed. Great Team Job! Interesting schedules and visits. In Almaty, in the beginning the guide was shy, but later very good. Guide in Issyk Kul was also excellent.
Author: Vanessa   |   Rating: 58 July 2016
Very well organized. Everything ran smoothly. The drivers and guides were on time and professional and the sites are very interesting. A lot more affordable than other companies and you still get a really good tour and get to see all the main sights. I was a lady who signed up for the tour by myself and I felt very safe and comfortable.

Post a comment